Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 540629666a1e4000020d9e5a

-a-b-c-

Put hyphens everywhere.

Start file
abcdefghijklm
End file
-a-b-c-d-e-f-g-h-i-j-k-l-m-

View Diff

1c1
< abcdefghijklm
---
> -a-b-c-d-e-f-g-h-i-j-k-l-m-

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1080 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1081 bluehat / @b1u3h4t - Score: 81 - 09/17/14 @ 15:44
I-<Esc>lli-<Esc>ll.ll.2.u2k.uk2.ull.xl.ui-<Esc>ll.2kk2l.l2lh.2k.uk.u3k.ull.ll.ll.ll.ll.uA-<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

1081 active golfers, 3012 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#661 - wrglprmft / @wrglprmft

01/19/2019 at 09:38PM

15
#662 - abgalphabet / @abgalphabet

01/22/2019 at 01:53PM

15
#663 - Mateen Ulhaq / @sicariusnoctis

02/13/2019 at 01:03AM

15
#664 - tenteke / @kuskus3

02/26/2019 at 02:25PM

15
#665 - Michał Łowicki / @mlowicki

04/18/2019 at 01:53PM

15
#666 - Izaak van Dongen / @goedel_gang

04/28/2019 at 01:41AM

15
#667 - Nick Yeow / @nickyeow

05/24/2019 at 03:03PM

15
#668 - tinmarino / @tinmarino1

05/26/2019 at 09:27PM

15
#669 - Thomas Hickman / @thomaskhickman

06/08/2019 at 12:30PM

15
#670 - hodenkobold66 / @hodenkobold66

06/25/2019 at 01:49PM

15
#671 - Березницкий Вадим / @vad1mster

07/08/2019 at 01:55PM

15
#672 - Crystal L / @Cartsly

07/13/2019 at 10:32PM

15
#673 - Ivo Blöchliger / @aigledesalpes

08/04/2019 at 07:48PM

15
#674 - Matt Vaughn / @mattttvaughn

08/04/2019 at 11:29PM

15
#675 - Coder's Crib / @storyb3atz

08/11/2019 at 11:21AM

15
#676 - Chris Shorrock / @EbinFlow

08/14/2019 at 10:37PM

15
#677 - BESSENG A IREH Guy / @guybesseng

08/16/2019 at 03:18PM

15
#678 - Mr_Djez / @DjezMr

08/17/2019 at 08:14PM

15
#679 - Simon Wilkinson / @simondwilkinson

08/25/2019 at 12:09AM

15
#680 - Masi Valkonen / @masivalkonen

08/28/2019 at 06:56AM

15
#681 - Christian / @paierlep

08/31/2019 at 09:15PM

15
#682 - vimRunnerUp3000 / @VUp3000

09/02/2019 at 06:43PM

15
#683 - leo / @leo28356948

10/28/2019 at 01:22PM

15
#684 - Minyi Zhong / @minyi_zhong

11/25/2019 at 05:23AM

15
#685 - pysnow530 / @pysnow530

11/25/2019 at 02:02PM

15
#686 - Michael Meixner / @meixner62

01/23/2020 at 12:50PM

15
#687 - Jason Neylon / @jasonneylon

01/23/2020 at 07:40PM

15
#688 - Jonathan Skeate / @jskeate

02/09/2020 at 08:09PM

15
#689 - Ryan Nevius / @ryannevius

03/16/2020 at 08:06PM

15
#690 - Mack Hutsell / @sellshuts

05/25/2020 at 07:04AM