Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 54345d14d529ef0002227d4c

That hyphen

"vim vi improved"

Start file
(vim -
vi
improved)
(vim
vi
improved)
End file
vim vi improved
(vim -
vi
improved)
(vim
vi
improved)

View Diff

0a1
> vim vi improved

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 543 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#544 Juampy NR / @juampynr - Score: 55 - 10/10/14 @ 20:33
<Esc>xJhxx<Esc>lJ<Esc>lllllllllllllx<Esc>ja '<BS>-<Esc>jjkk3yyjjp<Esc>lllllxx<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

544 active golfers, 1836 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
11
#211 - buz / @buzbone

10/29/2014 at 11:10AM

11
#212 - Karol Katerżawa / @CharlieQbx

11/06/2014 at 10:49AM

11
#213 - John Smith / @temp_soraismus

11/18/2014 at 03:21AM

11
#214 - Roberto Alegro / @robertoaall

11/30/2014 at 04:13AM

11
#215 - Abdo Achkar / @Achkar

12/06/2014 at 12:32PM

11
#216 - Josu Oyanguren / @josuoyanguren

12/18/2014 at 04:27PM

11
#217 - Joshua Greeenberg / @JoshuaGreeenber

12/19/2014 at 12:23PM

11
#218 - Geoff Huston / @AGeoffHuston

12/23/2014 at 04:33AM

11
#219 - r. / @rmarvie

12/26/2014 at 12:50PM

11
#220 - Filipe Almeida / @filipe_almeida

12/31/2014 at 03:56AM

11
#221 - YAMADA Yukimi / @edp02

01/01/2015 at 09:15AM

11
#222 - Grisha Pushkov / @readoonly

01/01/2015 at 06:45PM

11
#223 - Carlos A Henríquez Q / @lagunex

01/18/2015 at 09:51AM

11
#224 - Ilari Mäkelä / @ilarimkel

01/20/2015 at 07:17PM

11
#225 - no name / @vimgol

01/29/2015 at 06:36PM

11
#226 - xieyh11 / @xieyh11

02/13/2015 at 04:31AM

11
#227 - Ben Plantinga / @benplantinga

03/03/2015 at 06:48AM

11
#228 - Robin Moussu / @robin_moussu

03/30/2015 at 09:23PM

11
#229 - Michael Cramer / @mlcramer

05/02/2015 at 12:57AM

11
#230 - Antony Scriven / @antonyscriven

05/05/2015 at 03:57PM

11
#231 - danweaver / @danweaver

05/14/2015 at 04:29PM

11
#232 - Camusensei / @Camusensei

05/19/2015 at 12:52PM

11
#233 - Victor Haffreingue / @nobe_4

05/19/2015 at 08:47PM

11
#234 - Daniel Worthington / @halffullheart

05/20/2015 at 10:29PM

11
#235 - Michael Liou / @mlliou112

06/19/2015 at 02:40AM

11
#236 - Mutter Mumble / @muttermumble

06/19/2015 at 11:22AM

11
#237 - Blake Tereau / @BlakeTereau

08/13/2015 at 04:45PM

11
#238 - Veritas / @_VeritasL

08/23/2015 at 12:57PM

11
#239 - oscar / @zonza_mas

09/04/2015 at 02:57PM

11
#240 - Mikael Saltzman / @MikaelSaltzman

09/26/2015 at 01:01AM