Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 54345d14d529ef0002227d4c

That hyphen

"vim vi improved"

Start file
(vim -
vi
improved)
(vim
vi
improved)
End file
vim vi improved
(vim -
vi
improved)
(vim
vi
improved)

View Diff

0a1
> vim vi improved

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 577 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#578 Juampy NR / @juampynr - Score: 55 - 10/10/14 @ 20:33
<Esc>xJhxx<Esc>lJ<Esc>lllllllllllllx<Esc>ja '<BS>-<Esc>jjkk3yyjjp<Esc>lllllxx<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

578 active golfers, 1992 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
11
#241 - Ilari Mäkelä / @ilarimkel

01/20/2015 at 07:17PM

11
#242 - no name / @vimgol

01/29/2015 at 06:36PM

11
#243 - xieyh11 / @xieyh11

02/13/2015 at 04:31AM

11
#244 - Ben Plantinga / @benplantinga

03/03/2015 at 06:48AM

11
#245 - Robin Moussu / @robin_moussu

03/30/2015 at 09:23PM

11
#246 - Michael Cramer / @mlcramer

05/02/2015 at 12:57AM

11
#247 - Antony Scriven / @antonyscriven

05/05/2015 at 03:57PM

11
#248 - danweaver / @danweaver

05/14/2015 at 04:29PM

11
#249 - Camusensei / @Camusensei

05/19/2015 at 12:52PM

11
#250 - Victor Haffreingue / @nobe_4

05/19/2015 at 08:47PM

11
#251 - Daniel Worthington / @halffullheart

05/20/2015 at 10:29PM

11
#252 - Michael Liou / @mlliou112

06/19/2015 at 02:40AM

11
#253 - Mutter Mumble / @muttermumble

06/19/2015 at 11:22AM

11
#254 - Blake Tereau / @BlakeTereau

08/13/2015 at 04:45PM

11
#255 - Veritas / @_VeritasL

08/23/2015 at 12:57PM

11
#256 - oscar / @zonza_mas

09/04/2015 at 02:57PM

11
#257 - Mikael Saltzman / @MikaelSaltzman

09/26/2015 at 01:01AM

11
#258 - Thomas Draper / @QuanTom561

10/01/2015 at 10:57PM

11
#259 - DespicableJerk / @JerkDespicable

10/20/2015 at 02:40PM

11
#260 - Peter / @sunirbmag

10/27/2015 at 06:44PM

11
#261 - VimGolfUser / @UserVim

11/11/2015 at 12:24AM

11
#262 - Pete Sevander / @Sevanteri

11/11/2015 at 11:02AM

11
#263 - Paul Hornsey / @MadDogNinja

11/27/2015 at 12:04AM

11
#264 - Jiahan Wang / @hijiahanwang123

12/08/2015 at 07:51PM

11
#265 - Charlie / @wookie_giant

12/22/2015 at 08:51PM

11
#266 - Faat / @i_faat

12/29/2015 at 04:06PM

11
#267 - Durga Swaroop Perla / @durgaswaroop

02/03/2016 at 05:34PM

11
#268 - Roland Hougs / @OminousWater

02/21/2016 at 05:21PM

11
#269 - Jaron Hamlik / @jdhamlik

02/27/2016 at 10:59PM

11
#270 - Robber Toe / @robbertoe

04/01/2016 at 02:09AM