Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 54595b13128576000257a3c1

Basic renumbering

Renumbering Basic.

Start file
10 PRINT "The actual"
15 PRINT "code doesn't"
16 PRINT "really matter."
20 PRINT "Just take"
25 PRINT "care of"
30 PRINT "the numbers."
End file
10 PRINT "The actual"
20 PRINT "code doesn't"
30 PRINT "really matter."
40 PRINT "Just take"
50 PRINT "care of"
60 PRINT "the numbers."

View Diff

2,6c2,6
< 15 PRINT "code doesn't"
< 16 PRINT "really matter."
< 20 PRINT "Just take"
< 25 PRINT "care of"
< 30 PRINT "the numbers."
---
> 20 PRINT "code doesn't"
> 30 PRINT "really matter."
> 40 PRINT "Just take"
> 50 PRINT "care of"
> 60 PRINT "the numbers."

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1051 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1052 Dominic Z / @thammaaa - Score: 66 - 12/21/17 @ 12:59
<C-V>GI10<Esc><Esc><C-V>G<C-N><C-A><Esc>ugvgvv<C-A><Esc>uu<C-R><Right><Right><Esc>v<Down><Down><Down><Up><Up><Up><Esc><C-V><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Right>d<Left><Left><Down><C-V><Down><Down><Down><Down><C-A><Esc>u<C-V>Gg<C-V><C-A><Esc>u<C-V>Gg<C-A>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

1052 active golfers, 4579 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
24
#931 - Clémence / @Clemence_Neoxia

04/06/2016 at 07:55AM

24
#932 - Joe Searle / @artouk

05/02/2016 at 02:49PM

24
#933 - iNaKoll / @iNaKoll

05/07/2016 at 05:53PM

24
#934 - Jonathan Werner / @jonathanewerner

07/09/2016 at 05:51PM

24
#935 - Marvin Samson / @fresapore

09/09/2016 at 08:13PM

24
#936 - Yann / @yannstad

02/19/2017 at 10:09AM

24
#937 - Eric Bakan / @ericbakan

03/15/2017 at 01:42AM

24
#938 - Mitchell / @Spitchell

03/17/2017 at 12:01AM

24
#939 - melgaardbjorn / @melgaardbjorn

03/18/2017 at 05:43PM

24
#940 - Bruce Horner / @HerbConjurer

05/16/2017 at 01:55AM

24
#941 - Petar Saulic / @gorillawarfare9

10/27/2017 at 09:15AM

24
#942 - Михаил Сурин / @realssmike

12/17/2017 at 03:04AM

24
#943 - l / @ioio85

02/04/2018 at 03:37AM

24
#944 - nomsayin / @nomsayin

04/16/2018 at 12:34AM

24
#945 - Kyle Safran / @kylesafran

01/19/2019 at 03:23AM

24
#946 - majo senf / @majo_senf

06/17/2019 at 07:02AM

25
#947 - Xavier Goás A. / @xa4us

11/07/2014 at 08:45PM

25
#948 - Jake Worth / @jwworth

11/07/2014 at 10:41PM

25
#949 - Juampy NR / @juampynr

12/22/2014 at 11:29AM

25
#950 - Matt Walsh / @mattwalsh

01/18/2015 at 05:29AM

25
#951 - Bruno Arueira / @bruno_arueira

01/28/2015 at 12:29PM

25
#952 - Gunnar X / @omgitsgunnar

04/13/2015 at 09:30PM

25
#953 - Durga Swaroop Perla / @durgaswaroop

02/03/2016 at 05:42PM

25
#954 - Andrew Smith / @amazing_andrew

08/13/2016 at 04:55AM

25
#955 - Noah Hunter / @nhhntr11

09/08/2016 at 06:37PM

25
#956 - PabloMansanet / @PMansanet

10/27/2016 at 12:59PM

25
#957 - Nico Jansen / @nicojansen1804

01/03/2017 at 06:23PM

25
#958 - Steve Lemuel / @Steve_Lemuel

05/04/2017 at 10:30AM

25
#959 - Andrew Whitaker / @andrewwhitaker

09/09/2017 at 06:27PM

25
#960 - Chris Kirkland / @numbahs

11/12/2017 at 03:55AM