Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 54595b13128576000257a3c1

Basic renumbering

Renumbering Basic.

Start file
10 PRINT "The actual"
15 PRINT "code doesn't"
16 PRINT "really matter."
20 PRINT "Just take"
25 PRINT "care of"
30 PRINT "the numbers."
End file
10 PRINT "The actual"
20 PRINT "code doesn't"
30 PRINT "really matter."
40 PRINT "Just take"
50 PRINT "care of"
60 PRINT "the numbers."

View Diff

2,6c2,6
< 15 PRINT "code doesn't"
< 16 PRINT "really matter."
< 20 PRINT "Just take"
< 25 PRINT "care of"
< 30 PRINT "the numbers."
---
> 20 PRINT "code doesn't"
> 30 PRINT "really matter."
> 40 PRINT "Just take"
> 50 PRINT "care of"
> 60 PRINT "the numbers."

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1217 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1218 Dominic Z / @thammaaa - Score: 66 - 12/21/17 @ 12:59
<C-V>GI10<Esc><Esc><C-V>G<C-N><C-A><Esc>ugvgvv<C-A><Esc>uu<C-R><Right><Right><Esc>v<Down><Down><Down><Up><Up><Up><Esc><C-V><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Right>d<Left><Left><Down><C-V><Down><Down><Down><Down><C-A><Esc>u<C-V>Gg<C-V><C-A><Esc>u<C-V>Gg<C-A>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

1218 active golfers, 5393 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
30
#1171 - Chris Grantham / @crgrantham

12/14/2015 at 04:44PM

30
#1172 - Ilya Ezepov / @iezepov

12/03/2016 at 07:13PM

31
#1173 - Heron Medeiros / @heronmedeiros

11/10/2014 at 11:23PM

31
#1174 - Dylan Harrington / @dylanharrington

03/12/2015 at 12:36AM

31
#1175 - dan sweeting / @itsjustcode

11/12/2015 at 08:52PM

31
#1176 - Graham Singer / @grahamsinger

01/05/2019 at 04:55AM

31
#1177 - fff / @fff51460170

02/20/2021 at 06:27AM

32
#1178 - Spacesh1p / @spacesh1pdev

01/03/2018 at 01:10PM

33
#1179 - Christophe Tappret / @ctappret

07/23/2015 at 01:46PM

33
#1180 - Abdou Belghalem / @abelghalem

09/07/2015 at 03:23PM

33
#1181 - Hank Chinaski / @uktechman

04/22/2016 at 04:44PM

33
#1182 - Sam Christensen / @samuelchriste

11/24/2020 at 04:29AM

33
#1183 - Lbfe / @Jmat07

12/30/2020 at 02:57PM

34
#1184 - Slurpie Chapdash / @SlurpieChapdash

05/01/2015 at 09:37PM

34
#1185 - ʎɐɹ / @staticjak

05/05/2017 at 09:47PM

35
#1186 - Victor-IsmaelReeves / @VIsmaelreeves

11/08/2020 at 10:19AM

36
#1187 - bo-yu huang / @good5dog5

11/11/2014 at 08:34AM

36
#1188 - Pierre Houssin / @PierreHoussin

12/16/2014 at 08:38PM

36
#1189 - Chanaka Sandaruwan / @ch4n4k4

12/24/2014 at 11:58AM

36
#1190 - Lydia Cupery / @LCupery

12/02/2018 at 08:15PM

37
#1191 - Antonio Murdaca / @runc0m

01/17/2015 at 09:49PM

38
#1192 - marcusmichaely / @marcus_michaely

02/08/2015 at 01:16AM

38
#1193 - Hee Jun Yi / @junyihjy

04/02/2015 at 01:27AM

38
#1194 - BitLad / @BitLad

01/30/2018 at 07:44PM

38
#1195 - The Joe / @computerjoe708

03/20/2019 at 11:13PM

38
#1196 - mp / @mp28812322

07/17/2020 at 12:01PM

38
#1197 - Josh Keller / @KzooJosh

01/28/2021 at 02:53AM

39
#1198 - Pyankova Julia / @yulya3102

11/09/2014 at 12:06PM

39
#1199 - Simon Ingelsson / @_DeVVaN_

08/15/2018 at 02:17PM

39
#1200 - Fabio Branquinho / @branquif

11/08/2018 at 02:56PM