Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5462e3f41198b80002512673

I forgot quotes

Oops.

Start file
foo = a
      ab
      abc
End file
foo = "a"
      "ab"
      "abc"

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< foo = a
<       ab
<       abc
---
> foo = "a"
>       "ab"
>       "abc"

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3328 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3329 JerryChiu / @pv31508 - Score: 75 - 08/18/15 @ 14:00
Gqaciw"<C-R><C-H><C-H><Esc><0xef><0xbc><0x9b><0xe3><0x84><0xa7>uukkkkkkkkkkkkkk^Gaq<C-H><Esc><Esc><Esc>qkkkkkkkkkk^Gqaciw"<C-R>""<Esc>kq2@azzjkZZ

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3329 active golfers, 12471 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
23
#3151 - Jurica / @Jurica34581259

11/14/2018 at 11:26PM

23
#3152 - Ján Mochňak / @janmochnak

01/27/2019 at 07:47PM

23
#3153 - sfmogway / @sfmogway

02/14/2019 at 10:43AM

23
#3154 - Rodrigo Ceccato de Freitas / @_fopor

04/12/2019 at 11:59PM

23
#3155 - Akshay Aurora / @akshayaurora

04/13/2019 at 09:53PM

23
#3156 - Yegor Myshlyaev / @YegorMy

04/15/2019 at 10:06AM

23
#3157 - Dheerendra Rathor / @dheerendra_sr

05/15/2019 at 03:46PM

23
#3158 - majo senf / @majo_senf

06/14/2019 at 08:05AM

23
#3159 - Andy Mc / @Mcsweena

06/19/2019 at 09:39AM

23
#3160 - Hung Hoang / @hoanghun5

08/26/2019 at 12:44PM

23
#3161 - Rajasegar Chandran / @rajasegar_c

09/25/2019 at 06:46AM

24
#3162 - Yoav Weiss / @yoavweiss

12/03/2014 at 05:51AM

24
#3163 - Vittorio Tortugo / @vik_rocknrolla

12/22/2014 at 10:42AM

24
#3164 - Johnny Develop / @johnnydevelop

12/22/2014 at 06:38PM

24
#3165 - Chaitanya Desu / @ChaituNu

01/10/2015 at 09:29PM

24
#3166 - OlivierLi / @LiZhongSin

02/16/2015 at 06:48PM

24
#3167 - Jeffrey Gu / @Jeffrey_Gu

03/12/2015 at 03:32PM

24
#3168 - Duncan Frost / @NinjaDuncan

03/20/2015 at 12:08PM

24
#3169 - Manish Gill / @mgill25

06/25/2015 at 03:03PM

24
#3170 - Joel N. / @cboar_

09/28/2015 at 05:13AM

24
#3171 - Pratap Koritala / @pratap_koritala

02/16/2016 at 04:41PM

24
#3172 - Steven Burnett / @sdb1228

02/22/2016 at 09:09PM

24
#3173 - Robin Pyon / @robinpyon

05/15/2017 at 02:25PM

24
#3174 - Geoff / @RealGeoffErwin

09/26/2017 at 10:42PM

24
#3175 - Ruben De Smet / @rubdos

11/10/2017 at 12:06PM

24
#3176 - Jerry / @GarrisonwuJerry

06/12/2018 at 09:23PM

24
#3177 - Priesemut / @Priesemut3

06/20/2018 at 06:51PM

24
#3178 - Andrius Bentkus / @andriusbentkus

08/09/2018 at 11:01AM

24
#3179 - Fabio Branquinho / @branquif

11/07/2018 at 01:16PM

24
#3180 - Matt Zanchelli / @mdznr

04/03/2019 at 11:13PM