Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5462e3f41198b80002512673

I forgot quotes

Oops.

Start file
foo = a
      ab
      abc
End file
foo = "a"
      "ab"
      "abc"

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< foo = a
<       ab
<       abc
---
> foo = "a"
>       "ab"
>       "abc"

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3808 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3809 x / @am_zzz_zzz - Score: 216 - 05/12/20 @ 07:30
llllllciw''<Esc>pjhlhciw''<Esc>pjhciw''<Esc>pkjuuuuuuciw'<C-R><C-O>"<C-H>"'<Esc>jjhciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>khhhlll.kh.jjhhvi'hluuuuuujjjlciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>ul.k.k.jjj:reg<CR>quuuuuukkv<Esc><Esc><C-V>jj:<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>jqk<C-V>jj:norm i'<C-V><Esc>A'<CR>khhhullllll<C-V>jjk<Esc>kciw"<Esc>pa"<Esc>uuujukkjlhkqaciw""<Esc>hpqj@aj@a:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3809 active golfers, 14487 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
21
#3451 - 新建文檔 / @flintthuang

06/02/2020 at 06:28AM

21
#3452 - bichoverde / @bichoverde5

06/25/2020 at 04:50PM

22
#3453 - Michael Gerdes / @mgerdes11

11/24/2014 at 05:12PM

22
#3454 - Demon Liao / @DemonCris

12/02/2014 at 11:34AM

22
#3455 - Eno Compton / @username_eno

12/07/2014 at 12:33AM

22
#3456 - Fauzan Qadri / @fauzanqadri

12/11/2014 at 05:22PM

22
#3457 - Koji Wakayama / @wakayamakoji

12/16/2014 at 03:29PM

22
#3458 - Jeffrey fiddler / @jeff_nv_86

12/17/2014 at 09:26PM

22
#3459 - Niren Orie / @nirenorie

01/03/2015 at 04:21PM

22
#3460 - Josh Greenwood / @JoshTGreenwood

02/10/2015 at 11:01PM

22
#3461 - Adam Jimenez / @adamjimenez0

02/12/2015 at 04:07PM

22
#3462 - someoddpilot.dev / @someoddpilotdev

02/24/2015 at 06:37PM

22
#3463 - Dhuan!! / @sigadhuan

03/19/2015 at 11:09PM

22
#3464 - Marco Antognini / @MrHiura

05/07/2015 at 02:15PM

22
#3465 - Ivan Kasatenko / @sky31338

05/09/2015 at 04:19PM

22
#3466 - 唯 / @alviezhang

05/19/2015 at 06:31AM

22
#3467 - Garrett Heaver / @garrettheaver

06/02/2015 at 07:07PM

22
#3468 - Itamar Gal / @novicevimgolfer

08/16/2015 at 12:55AM

22
#3469 - Max Jacobson / @maxjacobson

10/29/2015 at 02:58AM

22
#3470 - Charleston / @cv9828

11/28/2015 at 04:47AM

22
#3471 - Kevin Gisi / @cheerskevin

02/22/2016 at 09:38AM

22
#3472 - Albert Le Batteux / @Aera_style

06/03/2016 at 03:44PM

22
#3473 - Thomas Versteeg / @versteeg_t

08/19/2016 at 07:30AM

22
#3474 - おたく / @cfinley

09/15/2016 at 07:03PM

22
#3475 - PaulCh / @__paulch

09/21/2016 at 11:48PM

22
#3476 - Mark Badros / @mbadros

12/08/2016 at 11:53PM

22
#3477 - Matt Ryan / @mrevd

12/23/2016 at 10:04PM

22
#3478 - Alex Moorman / @dabearsxander

01/06/2017 at 03:55AM

22
#3479 - Elliott Mantock / @elGatoMantocko

04/30/2017 at 07:05PM

22
#3480 - Kevin Lefevre / @klefevre_

06/18/2017 at 01:58PM