Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5462e3f41198b80002512673

I forgot quotes

Oops.

Start file
foo = a
      ab
      abc
End file
foo = "a"
      "ab"
      "abc"

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< foo = a
<       ab
<       abc
---
> foo = "a"
>       "ab"
>       "abc"

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3805 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3806 x / @am_zzz_zzz - Score: 216 - 05/12/20 @ 07:30
llllllciw''<Esc>pjhlhciw''<Esc>pjhciw''<Esc>pkjuuuuuuciw'<C-R><C-O>"<C-H>"'<Esc>jjhciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>khhhlll.kh.jjhhvi'hluuuuuujjjlciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>ul.k.k.jjj:reg<CR>quuuuuukkv<Esc><Esc><C-V>jj:<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>jqk<C-V>jj:norm i'<C-V><Esc>A'<CR>khhhullllll<C-V>jjk<Esc>kciw"<Esc>pa"<Esc>uuujukkjlhkqaciw""<Esc>hpqj@aj@a:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3806 active golfers, 14477 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
14
#1501 - Ben Friedland / @bfriedland174

01/28/2016 at 08:11PM

14
#1502 - Sassan Haradji / @sassanh

01/30/2016 at 07:11AM

14
#1503 - Sheapel User / @sheapeluser

02/01/2016 at 01:32PM

14
#1504 - GarrettPeterson / @GarrettPeterson

02/10/2016 at 12:03AM

14
#1505 - leroy / @leroypubel

02/21/2016 at 09:50AM

14
#1506 - fzort / @fzort

02/28/2016 at 02:06PM

14
#1507 - de Chezelles Benoit / @BenoitBew78

03/03/2016 at 05:54PM

14
#1508 - Dylan / @helloasdff

03/03/2016 at 09:15PM

14
#1509 - Mister Knister / @vimgolf_ctrl_x

03/04/2016 at 12:44PM

14
#1510 - Piotr Madaliński / @MadalinskiPiotr

03/06/2016 at 07:44PM

14
#1511 - Léo Ercolanelli / @ercolanellileo

03/23/2016 at 05:24PM

14
#1512 - Nick Licitra / @nlicitra

03/24/2016 at 05:09PM

14
#1513 - Josh Finnie / @joshfinnie

03/24/2016 at 05:09PM

14
#1514 - Chenut Ludovic / @7Brwa7

03/31/2016 at 07:58PM

14
#1515 - jb M / @Jiboo_hey

04/20/2016 at 06:39PM

14
#1516 - tPenguinLTG / @tpenguinltg

04/25/2016 at 04:30AM

14
#1517 - iNaKoll / @iNaKoll

05/07/2016 at 08:33PM

14
#1518 - Steven Moazami / @mong8se

05/08/2016 at 02:32AM

14
#1519 - Andres Araya / @arayaandresfco

05/14/2016 at 07:22PM

14
#1520 - Ryan Dwyer / @ryan_dwyer

06/01/2016 at 04:08AM

14
#1521 - talineo / @talineo_

06/02/2016 at 03:56PM

14
#1522 - Lukas B. / @pixel6692

06/03/2016 at 08:42AM

14
#1523 - David Devecsery / @devecsery

06/08/2016 at 03:38PM

14
#1524 - Rein Van Imschoot / @reinvanimschoot

06/16/2016 at 08:52PM

14
#1525 - Diego Garcia ⚒ / @drgarcia1986

07/24/2016 at 06:40PM

14
#1526 - Jake Maul / @jake_maul

08/03/2016 at 06:47AM

14
#1527 - Josh Samuelson / @JoshSamuelson

08/09/2016 at 08:04PM

14
#1528 - kodemaan / @kodemaan

08/12/2016 at 08:24PM

14
#1529 - Andrew Smith / @amazing_andrew

08/13/2016 at 04:13AM

14
#1530 - Marsellus Wallace / @Marsellus_Walla

08/13/2016 at 09:11PM