Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5462e3f41198b80002512673

I forgot quotes

Oops.

Start file
foo = a
      ab
      abc
End file
foo = "a"
      "ab"
      "abc"

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< foo = a
<       ab
<       abc
---
> foo = "a"
>       "ab"
>       "abc"

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3920 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3921 x / @am_zzz_zzz - Score: 216 - 05/12/20 @ 07:30
llllllciw''<Esc>pjhlhciw''<Esc>pjhciw''<Esc>pkjuuuuuuciw'<C-R><C-O>"<C-H>"'<Esc>jjhciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>khhhlll.kh.jjhhvi'hluuuuuujjjlciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>ul.k.k.jjj:reg<CR>quuuuuukkv<Esc><Esc><C-V>jj:<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>jqk<C-V>jj:norm i'<C-V><Esc>A'<CR>khhhullllll<C-V>jjk<Esc>kciw"<Esc>pa"<Esc>uuujukkjlhkqaciw""<Esc>hpqj@aj@a:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3921 active golfers, 14971 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
14
#1801 - Thomas Edlich / @grumpybavarian

09/28/2019 at 12:06PM

14
#1802 - Howl / @Howlxx55

10/08/2019 at 02:22PM

14
#1803 - dahan / @dahan74265266

10/09/2019 at 05:03AM

14
#1804 - Jonathan Medwig / @jmedwig

10/11/2019 at 02:16PM

14
#1805 - Nick Yeow / @nickyeow

10/19/2019 at 01:45PM

14
#1806 - Alex Schultz / @Pumpkinhead002

10/23/2019 at 08:31PM

14
#1807 - Henry Hey / @mj0lnir

10/25/2019 at 12:26PM

14
#1808 - vicver09 / @vicver091

10/25/2019 at 04:40PM

14
#1809 - Alex Emelianov / @AlexEmelianov3

10/26/2019 at 12:37AM

14
#1810 - Gregory Furter / @gfurter

10/27/2019 at 10:54AM

14
#1811 - rr / @rodgeur31

10/28/2019 at 10:55PM

14
#1812 - Andrew Naoum / @anaoum

11/04/2019 at 11:03PM

14
#1813 - Chris Covert / @covertcj

11/07/2019 at 07:50PM

14
#1814 - Ebi / @ehan6

11/10/2019 at 12:44PM

14
#1815 - pysnow530 / @pysnow530

11/19/2019 at 05:21AM

14
#1816 - bassnecter / @lothedr

11/23/2019 at 08:36AM

14
#1817 - Nicolas Pagny / @NicolasPagny

12/03/2019 at 01:55PM

14
#1818 - 990 / @nisibasi990

12/04/2019 at 02:37PM

14
#1819 - HypoTech / @Obongoetco

12/07/2019 at 10:07PM

14
#1820 - King Kang / @nobagtravel

12/11/2019 at 12:04AM

14
#1821 - Jason Neylon / @jasonneylon

12/15/2019 at 12:38PM

14
#1822 - Dan Kilman / @dan_kilman

12/18/2019 at 05:11PM

14
#1823 - Simon / @Simon79318261

12/21/2019 at 01:12PM

14
#1824 - 이종혁 / @BluePaisa

12/28/2019 at 10:20AM

14
#1825 - JimmyGymglish / @JGymglish

01/02/2020 at 09:38AM

14
#1826 - Moye_ / @moye_

01/06/2020 at 11:16PM

14
#1827 - Lars Haalck / @larshulk

01/08/2020 at 11:33AM

14
#1828 - Halfdan S. Bechmann / @HalfdanIsLame

01/13/2020 at 02:21PM

14
#1829 - jackjsk / @jackjsk1

01/17/2020 at 05:08AM

14
#1830 - く / @noblack_nolife

01/21/2020 at 09:15AM