Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5462e3f41198b80002512673

I forgot quotes

Oops.

Start file
foo = a
      ab
      abc
End file
foo = "a"
      "ab"
      "abc"

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< foo = a
<       ab
<       abc
---
> foo = "a"
>       "ab"
>       "abc"

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3961 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3962 x / @am_zzz_zzz - Score: 216 - 05/12/20 @ 07:30
llllllciw''<Esc>pjhlhciw''<Esc>pjhciw''<Esc>pkjuuuuuuciw'<C-R><C-O>"<C-H>"'<Esc>jjhciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>khhhlll.kh.jjhhvi'hluuuuuujjjlciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>ul.k.k.jjj:reg<CR>quuuuuukkv<Esc><Esc><C-V>jj:<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>jqk<C-V>jj:norm i'<C-V><Esc>A'<CR>khhhullllll<C-V>jjk<Esc>kciw"<Esc>pa"<Esc>uuujukkjlhkqaciw""<Esc>hpqj@aj@a:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3962 active golfers, 15136 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
16
#2311 - Alexander Borysov / @ab99c5e2

03/23/2015 at 11:34AM

16
#2312 - David Orr / @dorr91

03/23/2015 at 05:47PM

16
#2313 - Wei Liu / @iliuw

03/23/2015 at 09:59PM

16
#2314 - ɐʇnɥsɐpoʇ / @todashuta

03/25/2015 at 08:52AM

16
#2315 - Ethan Madison / @_ethanmad

04/06/2015 at 04:15AM

16
#2316 - Hendrik Lammers / @hendriklammers

04/07/2015 at 07:08PM

16
#2317 - cg.sg.im / @CoGe_StGa_idma

04/08/2015 at 12:20AM

16
#2318 - 김재겸 / @KimJaeKyeom

04/20/2015 at 05:59AM

16
#2319 - Thomas / @moatra

04/21/2015 at 03:58AM

16
#2320 - Nathan LaVeck / @nslaveck

04/22/2015 at 10:51PM

16
#2321 - Sascha Fricke / @frgVFX

04/25/2015 at 11:41PM

16
#2322 - Sam Cristall / @sbcristall

04/28/2015 at 06:20PM

16
#2323 - for2nduse / @for2nduse

05/07/2015 at 10:14PM

16
#2324 - James Whiteman / @LucidSimple

05/10/2015 at 11:11PM

16
#2325 - Clark DuVall / @theclarkatron

05/15/2015 at 10:11PM

16
#2326 - Henrik Lindgren / @HeLi8one

05/17/2015 at 06:50PM

16
#2327 - superbriscoe / @superbriscoe

05/22/2015 at 06:01PM

16
#2328 - Jordy van Heeswijk / @JvH1983

05/25/2015 at 06:11PM

16
#2329 - Ammar Najjar / @ammarnajjar

05/25/2015 at 06:38PM

16
#2330 - ɹǝsnɐɥsıʇnɹ uoɾ / @JonRutis

05/27/2015 at 06:46PM

16
#2331 - eric roberts / @baileyeock

05/29/2015 at 01:28AM

16
#2332 - nona urbiz / @nospampleasemam

06/04/2015 at 05:34AM

16
#2333 - Maxime / @Maxime_VII

06/10/2015 at 01:10PM

16
#2334 - SP / @vimgolfer42

06/18/2015 at 11:20PM

16
#2335 - Junior Ales / @junior_ales

06/19/2015 at 05:03PM

16
#2336 - Sam Izdat / @_SandSaref

06/27/2015 at 08:16PM

16
#2337 - Cosme Buxin / @cosme_buxin

06/27/2015 at 08:21PM

16
#2338 - Alphan Yılmaz / @alphanyilmaz

06/28/2015 at 07:07AM

16
#2339 - Vim Viking / @vim_viking

07/02/2015 at 10:35PM

16
#2340 - Samir Sadek / @netsamir

07/17/2015 at 09:15PM