Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5462e3f41198b80002512673

I forgot quotes

Oops.

Start file
foo = a
      ab
      abc
End file
foo = "a"
      "ab"
      "abc"

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< foo = a
<       ab
<       abc
---
> foo = "a"
>       "ab"
>       "abc"

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3921 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3922 x / @am_zzz_zzz - Score: 216 - 05/12/20 @ 07:30
llllllciw''<Esc>pjhlhciw''<Esc>pjhciw''<Esc>pkjuuuuuuciw'<C-R><C-O>"<C-H>"'<Esc>jjhciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>khhhlll.kh.jjhhvi'hluuuuuujjjlciw'<C-R><C-O>"'<Esc>ul.k.k.jjj:reg<CR>quuuuuukkv<Esc><Esc><C-V>jj:<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>jqk<C-V>jj:norm i'<C-V><Esc>A'<CR>khhhullllll<C-V>jjk<Esc>kciw"<Esc>pa"<Esc>uuujukkjlhkqaciw""<Esc>hpqj@aj@a:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3922 active golfers, 14974 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
18
#2911 - Vitaly Baum / @butaji

12/06/2014 at 09:26PM

18
#2912 - Johan Guttormsson / @guttormsson

12/08/2014 at 06:08PM

18
#2913 - Allen Toy / @allen_toy

12/09/2014 at 12:20AM

18
#2914 - Erim Secla / @Alcesmire

12/15/2014 at 03:30AM

18
#2915 - Jordan Alexander / @HappppyPerson

12/21/2014 at 03:26AM

18
#2916 - Chanaka Sandaruwan / @ch4n4k4

12/24/2014 at 06:44AM

18
#2917 - Bruno Arueira / @bruno_arueira

01/10/2015 at 03:18PM

18
#2918 - Orpine / @OrpineX

01/12/2015 at 11:53AM

18
#2919 - Raynard, Jordan / @raynard_jordan

01/14/2015 at 01:42PM

18
#2920 - Andreas Møller / @cullophid

01/15/2015 at 05:12PM

18
#2921 - Jacob / @0x604

01/19/2015 at 06:24AM

18
#2922 - Gregory Newman / @bozoslivehere

01/22/2015 at 11:51PM

18
#2923 - Jason Zudell / @maneKozaroo

01/27/2015 at 08:50AM

18
#2924 - Adrian / @reblow

02/09/2015 at 12:38PM

18
#2925 - Steven Loria / @sloria1

02/14/2015 at 03:56PM

18
#2926 - Ryan Troxler / @TroxlerRyan

02/18/2015 at 04:08AM

18
#2927 - Mike Marion / @mikejmarion

02/26/2015 at 04:26PM

18
#2928 - krzysztof siejkowski / @_siejkowski

02/26/2015 at 09:59PM

18
#2929 - Pekk (ペックって何それ?) / @sexypekk

03/05/2015 at 09:23PM

18
#2930 - Steven Schalhorn / @Unmensch

03/19/2015 at 04:24PM

18
#2931 - ipson_nek / @ipson_nek

03/24/2015 at 11:49AM

18
#2932 - Jacob Degeling / @JacobDegeling

03/28/2015 at 10:43AM

18
#2933 - Andrew Larson / @applarson

04/15/2015 at 12:55AM

18
#2934 - mx9 / @mutilx9

04/19/2015 at 10:41AM

18
#2935 - Alex Bartol / @alexbartol

05/06/2015 at 05:23AM

18
#2936 - Markus Kasper / @KasperBox

05/11/2015 at 03:21PM

18
#2937 - Li Wen Bing / @wbinglee

05/12/2015 at 07:19AM

18
#2938 - Flugsio / @flugsio

05/16/2015 at 06:04AM

18
#2939 - Morgan Waters / @morganwaters

05/25/2015 at 10:32PM

18
#2940 - Marijn van Vliet / @wmvanvliet

06/02/2015 at 12:57PM