Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5462e3f41198b80002512673

I forgot quotes

Oops.

Start file
foo = a
      ab
      abc
End file
foo = "a"
      "ab"
      "abc"

View Diff

1,3c1,3
< foo = a
<       ab
<       abc
---
> foo = "a"
>       "ab"
>       "abc"

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3087 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3088 JerryChiu / @pv31508 - Score: 75 - 08/18/15 @ 14:00
Gqaciw"<C-R><C-H><C-H><Esc><0xef><0xbc><0x9b><0xe3><0x84><0xa7>uukkkkkkkkkkkkkk^Gaq<C-H><Esc><Esc><Esc>qkkkkkkkkkk^Gqaciw"<C-R>""<Esc>kq2@azzjkZZ

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3088 active golfers, 11390 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
24
#2941 - Yoav Weiss / @yoavweiss

12/03/2014 at 05:51AM

24
#2942 - Vittorio Tortugo / @vik_rocknrolla

12/22/2014 at 10:42AM

24
#2943 - Johnny Develop / @johnnydevelop

12/22/2014 at 06:38PM

24
#2944 - Chaitanya Desu / @ChaituNu

01/10/2015 at 09:29PM

24
#2945 - OlivierLi / @LiZhongSin

02/16/2015 at 06:48PM

24
#2946 - Jeffrey Gu / @Jeffrey_Gu

03/12/2015 at 03:32PM

24
#2947 - Duncan Frost / @NinjaDuncan

03/20/2015 at 12:08PM

24
#2948 - Manish Gill / @mgill25

06/25/2015 at 03:03PM

24
#2949 - Joel N. / @cboar_

09/28/2015 at 05:13AM

24
#2950 - Pratap Koritala / @pratap_koritala

02/16/2016 at 04:41PM

24
#2951 - Steven Burnett / @sdb1228

02/22/2016 at 09:09PM

24
#2952 - Robin Pyon / @robinpyon

05/15/2017 at 02:25PM

24
#2953 - Geoff / @RealGeoffErwin

09/26/2017 at 10:42PM

24
#2954 - Ruben De Smet / @rubdos

11/10/2017 at 12:06PM

24
#2955 - Jerry / @GarrisonwuJerry

06/12/2018 at 09:23PM

24
#2956 - Priesemut / @Priesemut3

06/20/2018 at 06:51PM

24
#2957 - Andrius Bentkus / @andriusbentkus

08/09/2018 at 11:01AM

24
#2958 - Fabio Branquinho / @branquif

11/07/2018 at 01:16PM

24
#2959 - Matt Zanchelli / @mdznr

04/03/2019 at 11:13PM

24
#2960 - Henry Firth / @CubsfanH12

05/01/2019 at 02:30PM

24
#2961 - TheMagzuz / @DamMarkus

05/16/2019 at 06:10PM

25
#2962 - Josh Weinstein / @j_weinstein

11/17/2014 at 10:33AM

25
#2963 - Juampy NR / @juampynr

12/08/2014 at 10:24AM

25
#2964 - Paweł Chwała / @pawel_chwala

04/18/2015 at 01:23PM

25
#2965 - Javier Fernández / @javierfdezg

11/18/2015 at 12:04AM

25
#2966 - Izabel Jelenić / @IzabelJelenic

12/21/2015 at 06:14AM

25
#2967 - Dušan Baran / @dudoslaf

10/26/2016 at 09:20PM

25
#2968 - Basile Perrenoud / @BP_DK_

06/08/2017 at 12:10PM

25
#2969 - Ryan Tran / @BlueAccords

10/18/2017 at 09:24PM

25
#2970 - sunxl / @sxlgkxk

02/14/2018 at 03:21PM