Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 54862fbb3f90ac0002904cf5

Just the middle

Delete the instructions at the top and bottom.

Start file
Leave only the
numbered lines.
LINE 1
LINE 2
LINE 3
That's all.
Thank you
very much.
End file
LINE 1
LINE 2
LINE 3

View Diff

1,2d0
< Leave only the
< numbered lines.
6,8d3
< That's all.
< Thank you
< very much.

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3952 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3953 휘람 / @Brandhwi_0129 - Score: 120 - 06/29/18 @ 08:34
sdj<Down><Right><Left><Down><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>ZZ<BS><BS><Esc>ZZ

@saurabh908583: sdj -- dj make sense it deletes the top 2 lines for me but if I s press sdj it does 'Leave only the' >>>> 'djave only the' ... how did you do it? do you have key map

1 comment


Created by: @udioica

3953 active golfers, 10705 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
9
#3061 - Simon Mullis / @smullis

02/24/2015 at 05:21PM

9
#3062 - Hugues de Lassus / @HuguesdeLassus

02/26/2015 at 01:01PM

9
#3063 - Mike Marion / @mikejmarion

02/26/2015 at 04:18PM

9
#3064 - krzysztof siejkowski / @_siejkowski

02/26/2015 at 09:46PM

9
#3065 - Pete Neisen / @pneisen

02/26/2015 at 11:14PM

9
#3066 - louis sherren / @louis_sherren

02/27/2015 at 08:34AM

9
#3067 - Thomas Borowski / @thomasborowski

02/28/2015 at 07:42PM

9
#3068 - YK / @Dongas420

03/01/2015 at 02:00AM

9
#3069 - Michael Gerdes / @mgerdes11

03/02/2015 at 08:17PM

9
#3070 - Hugh G Rection / @RectionGHugh

03/02/2015 at 08:27PM

9
#3071 - Олександр Крилов / @o_v_krylov

03/04/2015 at 07:12PM

9
#3072 - US Dollar Price / @USDollarPrice

03/08/2015 at 12:03AM

9
#3073 - Stefan Sonski / @stefansonski

03/08/2015 at 10:20AM

9
#3074 - dosmanak / @dosmanak

03/10/2015 at 12:41PM

9
#3075 - Deepak Surti / @dmsurti

03/12/2015 at 12:49PM

9
#3076 - Jeffrey Gu / @Jeffrey_Gu

03/12/2015 at 03:23PM

9
#3077 - Loïs / @Zoneur

03/13/2015 at 04:17PM

9
#3078 - el R / @el_r

03/13/2015 at 10:37PM

9
#3079 - Frode Danielsen / @fdanielsen

03/14/2015 at 05:26PM

9
#3080 - Travis / @trayoda

03/16/2015 at 10:30PM

9
#3081 - ddddave / @baby_goat

03/17/2015 at 07:43PM

9
#3082 - Nicholas Scricco / @nscricco

03/17/2015 at 08:42PM

9
#3083 - Samuel Masuy / @samasuy

03/19/2015 at 12:40AM

9
#3084 - Kamil Laskowski / @laskowskikamil

03/19/2015 at 08:49PM

9
#3085 - Dhuan!! / @sigadhuan

03/19/2015 at 11:06PM

9
#3086 - Vittorio Tortugo / @vik_rocknrolla

04/04/2015 at 08:33AM

9
#3087 - matthieu le grix / @mlegrix

04/04/2015 at 01:56PM

9
#3088 - gengjiawen / @gengjiawen

04/08/2015 at 06:14AM

9
#3089 - Michael Cramer / @mlcramer

04/11/2015 at 01:16PM

9
#3090 - Arthur Karganyan / @arthurkarganyan

04/12/2015 at 10:28AM