Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 54862fbb3f90ac0002904cf5

Just the middle

Delete the instructions at the top and bottom.

Start file
Leave only the
numbered lines.
LINE 1
LINE 2
LINE 3
That's all.
Thank you
very much.
End file
LINE 1
LINE 2
LINE 3

View Diff

1,2d0
< Leave only the
< numbered lines.
6,8d3
< That's all.
< Thank you
< very much.

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 4080 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#4081 휘람 / @Brandhwi_0129 - Score: 120 - 06/29/18 @ 08:34
sdj<Down><Right><Left><Down><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>ZZ<BS><BS><Esc>ZZ

@saurabh908583: sdj -- dj make sense it deletes the top 2 lines for me but if I s press sdj it does 'Leave only the' >>>> 'djave only the' ... how did you do it? do you have key map

1 comment


Created by: @udioica

4081 active golfers, 11064 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#3931 - Asno Gordo / @dougghernandez

08/26/2019 at 03:54AM

12
#3932 - huynhminhchu / @huynhminhchu

09/23/2019 at 02:38AM

12
#3933 - Константин / @pillar_vandyke

10/17/2019 at 08:58PM

12
#3934 - roemermeier / @roemermeier

10/18/2019 at 04:20PM

12
#3935 - tobineko@ iOS x Flitterなエンジニア / @tabinekotamama

11/28/2019 at 08:28AM

12
#3936 - John Poon / @shinvalor

12/29/2019 at 09:00PM

12
#3937 - samet ぷ / @jssamet

02/01/2020 at 05:46PM

12
#3938 - Zhang Lizhong / @ZhangLizhong

03/01/2020 at 10:18PM

12
#3939 - David Cherednik / @david_cherednik

05/22/2020 at 07:00PM

12
#3940 - noxxi / @noooxxi

08/20/2020 at 03:16PM

12
#3941 - gchain / @gchain7

09/17/2020 at 02:20PM

12
#3942 - moh ayaya / @AyayaMoh

11/02/2020 at 03:20PM

12
#3943 - brunolavazza / @brunolavazza1

01/24/2021 at 02:01PM

13
#3944 - Dick Wiggers / @dickwiggers

01/06/2015 at 01:21PM

13
#3945 - Lindsay Verola / @lindsayv34

01/14/2015 at 11:40PM

13
#3946 - majie1993 / @1092121595

01/20/2015 at 05:02AM

13
#3947 - Zeeshan Jan / @zeeshanjan82

01/24/2015 at 06:23AM

13
#3948 - krispouille / @krispouille

01/26/2015 at 09:35PM

13
#3949 - The Kiba / @thekiba88

02/22/2015 at 02:10PM

13
#3950 - someoddpilot.dev / @someoddpilotdev

02/24/2015 at 06:33PM

13
#3951 - Yuan Guan / @yuanguan89

02/27/2015 at 02:51AM

13
#3952 - Sherin Kurian / @sherinkurian

03/03/2015 at 05:17AM

13
#3953 - Bastian Widmer / @dasrecht

03/03/2015 at 01:56PM

13
#3954 - Tabby / @Tabbie__

05/02/2015 at 07:06AM

13
#3955 - Vivek Sunder / @sviveksunder

05/13/2015 at 03:59AM

13
#3956 - Jason Spafford / @JasonSpafford

05/21/2015 at 10:39PM

13
#3957 - asdasd / @TheHeyHey123

05/31/2015 at 05:27AM

13
#3958 - Test Name / @krp230test

06/11/2015 at 08:04PM

13
#3959 - Alex / @ninjabassist777

06/12/2015 at 09:09PM

13
#3960 - Rag Rum / @ragrum

06/19/2015 at 03:24AM