Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 54862fbb3f90ac0002904cf5

Just the middle

Delete the instructions at the top and bottom.

Start file
Leave only the
numbered lines.
LINE 1
LINE 2
LINE 3
That's all.
Thank you
very much.
End file
LINE 1
LINE 2
LINE 3

View Diff

1,2d0
< Leave only the
< numbered lines.
6,8d3
< That's all.
< Thank you
< very much.

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3422 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3423 휘람 / @Brandhwi_0129 - Score: 120 - 06/29/18 @ 08:34
sdj<Down><Right><Left><Down><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>ZZ<BS><BS><Esc>ZZ

@saurabh908583: sdj -- dj make sense it deletes the top 2 lines for me but if I s press sdj it does 'Leave only the' >>>> 'djave only the' ... how did you do it? do you have key map

1 comment


Created by: @udioica

3423 active golfers, 9164 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
7
#61 - Leo Allen / @pitch_invasion

01/08/2015 at 05:24PM

7
#62 - Zull Full / @Zullfull

01/08/2015 at 07:40PM

7
#63 - Spike / @spikelindsey

01/09/2015 at 09:11AM

7
#64 - Johannes H. / @neVexa

01/09/2015 at 10:00AM

7
#65 - Thomson Tan / @acccel

01/09/2015 at 01:30PM

7
#66 - ZC-死理性派 / @zecyzhang

01/09/2015 at 04:42PM

7
#67 - Marcus Olsson / @marcusolsson

01/10/2015 at 12:41PM

7
#68 - Chaitanya Desu / @ChaituNu

01/10/2015 at 08:50PM

7
#69 - Oli Lalonde / @o_lalonde

01/11/2015 at 08:02AM

7
#70 - ZhangXiaochen / @zhang_xiaochen

01/11/2015 at 03:01PM

7
#71 - Fantom Boi / @fantomboi

01/12/2015 at 07:29AM

7
#72 - Barrios Blue / @barriosblue

01/12/2015 at 06:31PM

7
#73 - Vesa Nieminen / @vesanieminen

01/12/2015 at 07:07PM

7
#74 - Bryan Mytko / @BryanMytko

01/12/2015 at 10:19PM

7
#75 - Andrew / @akxlr

01/13/2015 at 09:35AM

7
#76 - zealotrush / @zealotrush

01/14/2015 at 04:56AM

7
#77 - Reese Wilson / @shinyvimgolf

01/14/2015 at 06:29AM

7
#78 - Yang Pengcheng / @nail1208

01/15/2015 at 11:22AM

7
#79 - KB / @CommonKb

01/17/2015 at 01:45AM

7
#80 - eirc / @eirc

01/17/2015 at 11:34AM

7
#81 - low_ghost / @low_ghost_clone

01/17/2015 at 12:59PM

7
#82 - Плеханов Дмитрий / @onemanstartup

01/17/2015 at 05:39PM

7
#83 - mark0829 / @mark0829

01/18/2015 at 10:25PM

7
#84 - Håken Lid / @haakenlid

01/19/2015 at 12:33AM

7
#85 - cdan / @cdan

01/19/2015 at 08:23AM

7
#86 - Andrey / @andreyrmg

01/19/2015 at 08:50AM

7
#87 - Nicolai Skogheim / @NicolaiSkogheim

01/19/2015 at 02:29PM

7
#88 - Ben Campbell / @benjiC

01/19/2015 at 03:53PM

7
#89 - Caek / @Caek_

01/19/2015 at 10:57PM

7
#90 - Gurminder Sunner / @g_sunner

01/19/2015 at 11:34PM