Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 54862fbb3f90ac0002904cf5

Just the middle

Delete the instructions at the top and bottom.

Start file
Leave only the
numbered lines.
LINE 1
LINE 2
LINE 3
That's all.
Thank you
very much.
End file
LINE 1
LINE 2
LINE 3

View Diff

1,2d0
< Leave only the
< numbered lines.
6,8d3
< That's all.
< Thank you
< very much.

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3422 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3423 휘람 / @Brandhwi_0129 - Score: 120 - 06/29/18 @ 08:34
sdj<Down><Right><Left><Down><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Down><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS>ZZ<BS><BS><Esc>ZZ

@saurabh908583: sdj -- dj make sense it deletes the top 2 lines for me but if I s press sdj it does 'Leave only the' >>>> 'djave only the' ... how did you do it? do you have key map

1 comment


Created by: @udioica

3423 active golfers, 9164 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
7
#181 - Javier Blanco / @jbgutierrez

03/15/2015 at 08:53PM

7
#182 - Anoop Kumar / @anooplive

03/16/2015 at 02:30AM

7
#183 - aborilov / @aborilov

03/16/2015 at 06:45AM

7
#184 - Dennis Bakhuis / @dennisbakhuis

03/17/2015 at 09:55AM

7
#185 - AppTakk! / @apptakk

03/17/2015 at 11:16AM

7
#186 - Bradley Garagan / @bradgaragan

03/17/2015 at 02:07PM

7
#187 - Ben Sherman / @bensherman

03/17/2015 at 10:33PM

7
#188 - Antoine Eddi / @aeddi42

03/20/2015 at 06:54PM

7
#189 - Ivan Brennan / @ivanbrennan

03/21/2015 at 01:49AM

7
#190 - Hooman / @namooh

03/22/2015 at 03:35PM

7
#191 - Jota / @rjjota

03/22/2015 at 04:46PM

7
#192 - Rod Knowlton / @codelahoma

03/22/2015 at 07:54PM

7
#193 - Alexander Borysov / @ab99c5e2

03/23/2015 at 11:25AM

7
#194 - Alex Grabyo / @alex_grabyo

03/23/2015 at 02:50PM

7
#195 - Kaleb Hornsby / @thekaleb

03/23/2015 at 03:55PM

7
#196 - David Orr / @dorr91

03/23/2015 at 05:10PM

7
#197 - GaveUp / @gaveup_

03/23/2015 at 06:47PM

7
#198 - Rafael Câmera Santos / @rafaelcamera

03/23/2015 at 07:14PM

7
#199 - Walf / @walfieee

03/23/2015 at 09:03PM

7
#200 - Ryan Kuczka / @ryan_kuczka

03/23/2015 at 09:16PM

7
#201 - jamesdrake / @oppaus

03/23/2015 at 09:55PM

7
#202 - wes / @_weslly

03/24/2015 at 05:34PM

7
#203 - Martin Ek / @ekmartinb

03/26/2015 at 12:30AM

7
#204 - Roman Zolotarev / @romanzolotarev

03/26/2015 at 11:56AM

7
#205 - John Stephens ⚑ / @johnstephens

03/26/2015 at 05:35PM

7
#206 - Ruslan / @DarkhanRus

03/27/2015 at 03:16PM

7
#207 - David English / @Nglish26

03/27/2015 at 08:36PM

7
#208 - Allie Schrader / @amschrader

03/30/2015 at 03:03AM

7
#209 - Рогов Иван / @aptinyple

03/30/2015 at 08:09AM

7
#210 - Alexander Kazakov / @volandkot

03/30/2015 at 03:08PM