Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 559c30948ef59c0eb7000002

Collect List

Convert to comma separated list.

Start file
* item1
* item2
* item3
* item4
* item5
End file
item1,item2,item3,item4,item5

View Diff

1,5c1
< * item1
< * item2
< * item3
< * item4
< * item5
---
> item1,item2,item3,item4,item5

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 933 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#934 Radoslav Ivanov / @rivanov1 - Score: 89 - 09/15/15 @ 18:30
<C-V>ljjjjdqa$i,<BS><Esc><Esc><Esc>hhhhh$a,jj<BS><BS><Esc>dl<Esc><Esc>i<Esc><Esc>lla,jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>lj^i<BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>qjh^i<BS>,jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>$j^i<BS>,<Esc><Esc>j^i<BS>,<Esc><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @compilejason

934 active golfers, 3246 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
13
#451 - jirgn / @jirgn

09/23/2017 at 08:37PM

13
#452 - しぇぱっち / @shepabashi

10/20/2017 at 02:38AM

13
#453 - Bradley M. Small / @BradleySmall

11/22/2017 at 02:46PM

13
#454 - maks kamnikar / @maks_kamnikar

01/08/2018 at 02:47PM

13
#455 - Alphonse Mariya / @alfunx

01/11/2018 at 09:55AM

13
#456 - つまっく。 / @tsumac1203

01/18/2018 at 11:38AM

13
#457 - Felix Boers / @felixboers

02/25/2018 at 01:43PM

13
#458 - Paul Page / @theRealPaulPage

03/23/2018 at 12:50PM

13
#459 - 서강훈 / @shirano150

04/03/2018 at 05:19AM

13
#460 - Fichera Gaetano / @gaetanofic

04/11/2018 at 07:55AM

13
#461 - steph-query / @StephQuery

07/17/2018 at 05:03PM

13
#462 - niwatoco / @yoshitune9

07/19/2018 at 01:45AM

13
#463 - yqu212 / @yqu212

07/27/2018 at 08:32AM

13
#464 - Rajesh Sharma / @deepredsky

07/30/2018 at 07:02PM

13
#465 - 🌀🦋Miriam Retka🦋🌀 / @miriamretka

08/24/2018 at 04:50PM

13
#466 - Jeff / @sir_wiggles3

09/08/2018 at 01:54AM

13
#467 - Vasil Mikhalenya / @bazillek

09/21/2018 at 04:07PM

13
#468 - 황규승 / @l5pBHyytJBu9SIC

11/17/2018 at 06:04AM

13
#469 - Anton Permenev / @a_permenev

11/19/2018 at 01:47PM

13
#470 - Andreas Nordahl / @andreasnordahl

11/26/2018 at 08:38AM

13
#471 - unclewangshushu / @shuwushu

11/29/2018 at 04:21PM

13
#472 - Ruby Sapphire / @RubySapphire20

12/15/2018 at 03:32AM

13
#473 - Mateen Ulhaq / @sicariusnoctis

02/12/2019 at 03:39AM

13
#474 - 默罕默德 / @Rt6RjEAJ987Woes

02/16/2019 at 08:57AM

14
#475 - Bruce Woodward / @Bruce_Woodward

07/17/2015 at 06:05AM

14
#476 - Tom van der Lee / @TomVdLee

07/23/2015 at 11:52AM

14
#477 - Wojtek Ryrych / @wryrych

07/28/2015 at 07:46PM

14
#478 - CoCo Loco / @lc2817

07/30/2015 at 06:12AM

14
#479 - Mac Goever / @MacGoever

08/03/2015 at 08:17PM

14
#480 - Georgi Georgiev / @GeorgievGeorgeS

08/11/2015 at 11:45AM