Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 559c30948ef59c0eb7000002

Collect List

Convert to comma separated list.

Start file
* item1
* item2
* item3
* item4
* item5
End file
item1,item2,item3,item4,item5

View Diff

1,5c1
< * item1
< * item2
< * item3
< * item4
< * item5
---
> item1,item2,item3,item4,item5

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 990 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#991 Radoslav Ivanov / @rivanov1 - Score: 89 - 09/15/15 @ 18:30
<C-V>ljjjjdqa$i,<BS><Esc><Esc><Esc>hhhhh$a,jj<BS><BS><Esc>dl<Esc><Esc>i<Esc><Esc>lla,jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>lj^i<BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>qjh^i<BS>,jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>$j^i<BS>,<Esc><Esc>j^i<BS>,<Esc><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @compilejason

991 active golfers, 3467 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#571 - jek lueps / @MoistFlex

09/14/2015 at 02:25PM

15
#572 - Alexander Pankratov / @nonuBKy

09/15/2015 at 03:13PM

15
#573 - Darren Tsung / @darrentsung

10/02/2015 at 11:59PM

15
#574 - No Holiness / @NoHoliness

10/03/2015 at 07:20AM

15
#575 - Domingue Justin / @_jdomingue

10/08/2015 at 05:38PM

15
#576 - Oliver Christ / @0liverChrist

10/10/2015 at 09:38PM

15
#577 - DespicableJerk / @JerkDespicable

10/17/2015 at 04:54PM

15
#578 - Anshu Avinash / @anshu_avinash

10/17/2015 at 08:49PM

15
#579 - Nick Miller / @ItsMeNickMiller

10/24/2015 at 08:15PM

15
#580 - Bogumił Kamiński / @BogumilKaminski

10/25/2015 at 05:12PM

15
#581 - Conor Ryan / @conorjryan

11/02/2015 at 07:44AM

15
#582 - Marshall Croes / @marshallcroes

11/09/2015 at 07:51PM

15
#583 - EatYourGreens / @VimTwo

11/27/2015 at 02:50PM

15
#584 - Izabel Jelenić / @IzabelJelenic

12/21/2015 at 09:25PM

15
#585 - Lindsay Swift / @_lindsai_

01/18/2016 at 06:30PM

15
#586 - Durga Swaroop Perla / @durgaswaroop

02/03/2016 at 06:19PM

15
#587 - Markus Bohl / @bohl_markus

02/23/2016 at 10:46PM

15
#588 - Mikael Saltzman / @MikaelSaltzman

02/23/2016 at 11:49PM

15
#589 - Jason Choi / @joyous_jason

03/29/2016 at 08:36AM

15
#590 - Chenut Ludovic / @7Brwa7

04/01/2016 at 08:22AM

15
#591 - iikieh / @iikieh

05/07/2016 at 06:13AM

15
#592 - Pablo R. Dinella / @pablordinella

06/10/2016 at 09:03PM

15
#593 - Vaisian / @Vaisian

07/06/2016 at 05:19PM

15
#594 - Amory Schlender / @schlamory

07/08/2016 at 06:22AM

15
#595 - Thiago Belem / @TiuTalk

08/31/2016 at 03:51AM

15
#596 - Hans Yelek / @hans_yelek

01/09/2017 at 07:37AM

15
#597 - Kyouma / @kyoumaJohn

05/19/2017 at 01:50PM

15
#598 - ʀǟɦʊʟ ɮɦօʟǟ / @theRahulBhola

05/25/2017 at 01:01PM

15
#599 - Brian Hall / @_bruab_

06/08/2017 at 04:23PM

15
#600 - John Smith / @johns32768

06/17/2017 at 11:23AM