Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 559c30948ef59c0eb7000002

Collect List

Convert to comma separated list.

Start file
* item1
* item2
* item3
* item4
* item5
End file
item1,item2,item3,item4,item5

View Diff

1,5c1
< * item1
< * item2
< * item3
< * item4
< * item5
---
> item1,item2,item3,item4,item5

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1038 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1039 Radoslav Ivanov / @rivanov1 - Score: 89 - 09/15/15 @ 18:30
<C-V>ljjjjdqa$i,<BS><Esc><Esc><Esc>hhhhh$a,jj<BS><BS><Esc>dl<Esc><Esc>i<Esc><Esc>lla,jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>lj^i<BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>qjh^i<BS>,jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>$j^i<BS>,<Esc><Esc>j^i<BS>,<Esc><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @compilejason

1039 active golfers, 3634 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
18
#901 - Shun / @shunasnetian

08/19/2015 at 03:38PM

18
#902 - Sergey Semushin / @Predelnik

08/23/2015 at 11:09AM

18
#903 - Francis / @francis_vega

09/03/2015 at 02:58PM

18
#904 - Gabriel Florit / @gabrielflorit

09/05/2015 at 08:52AM

18
#905 - Yaroslav Kanarev / @yarosurabu

09/07/2015 at 12:51PM

18
#906 - Ali Moeeny / @alimoeeny

09/15/2015 at 12:58PM

18
#907 - Kiet Nguyen / @kietnguyen86

09/29/2015 at 02:13PM

18
#908 - Adam Cook / @apcook

10/02/2015 at 07:02PM

18
#909 - Japan Daily Deals / @JapanDailyDeals

10/06/2015 at 10:07PM

18
#910 - Lošmi / @loshmibbq

10/08/2015 at 09:58AM

18
#911 - a / @robbietron

10/11/2015 at 04:36AM

18
#912 - coltruindie / @e10nevwa

10/13/2015 at 04:31PM

18
#913 - Wilmer Bandres / @WilmerBandres

12/01/2015 at 12:19PM

18
#914 - かりうむ / @ka1l

12/03/2015 at 02:32AM

18
#915 - Mendel Simon / @agentms11

12/07/2015 at 09:43PM

18
#916 - twenty2twoss / @twenty2twoss

12/29/2015 at 06:23PM

18
#917 - thlix / @thlix

01/09/2016 at 10:32PM

18
#918 - 戸田 薫 / @KaoruToda

01/10/2016 at 12:32PM

18
#919 - hammboning / @_PuttPirates_

01/14/2016 at 04:54PM

18
#920 - Etienne Tremel / @etiennetremel

02/07/2016 at 11:34AM

18
#921 - Bruno Vieira Costa / @bruno_vcosta

02/23/2016 at 03:15AM

18
#922 - Zach Gulde / @zgulde

02/29/2016 at 04:58AM

18
#923 - _xavo / @__xavo

03/01/2016 at 02:50AM

18
#924 - David Millman / @dlmillman

06/17/2016 at 01:35PM

18
#925 - malet / @Malet

06/22/2016 at 08:00PM

18
#926 - Noah Gumbert / @Noahrama

07/01/2016 at 04:30AM

18
#927 - Micha / @michman89

08/09/2016 at 12:52PM

18
#928 - Nabarun Chatterjee / @nabarunch

08/25/2016 at 01:49PM

18
#929 - Markus Lux / @_l0x_

01/04/2017 at 11:13AM

18
#930 - Matt Walsh / @wattmalsh

02/03/2017 at 06:26PM