Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 559c30948ef59c0eb7000002

Collect List

Convert to comma separated list.

Start file
* item1
* item2
* item3
* item4
* item5
End file
item1,item2,item3,item4,item5

View Diff

1,5c1
< * item1
< * item2
< * item3
< * item4
< * item5
---
> item1,item2,item3,item4,item5

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 933 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#934 Radoslav Ivanov / @rivanov1 - Score: 89 - 09/15/15 @ 18:30
<C-V>ljjjjdqa$i,<BS><Esc><Esc><Esc>hhhhh$a,jj<BS><BS><Esc>dl<Esc><Esc>i<Esc><Esc>lla,jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>lj^i<BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>qjh^i<BS>,jj<BS><BS><Esc><Esc>$j^i<BS>,<Esc><Esc>j^i<BS>,<Esc><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @compilejason

934 active golfers, 3246 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
22
#901 - Víctor López / @viticlick

08/22/2018 at 07:35PM

23
#902 - Sébastien Canart / @kokotchY

10/28/2017 at 09:33AM

23
#903 - Danila Dergachev / @daniladergachev

03/06/2018 at 10:29AM

23
#904 - z0c / @zerocabal

07/08/2018 at 09:50AM

24
#905 - 江裕诚 / @fatjyc

07/14/2015 at 02:56PM

24
#906 - Feras / @faldah

04/24/2016 at 09:48PM

24
#907 - Cleberson Gomes / @Cleber_son

08/19/2018 at 08:28PM

24
#908 - Jurica / @Jurica34581259

11/15/2018 at 12:13AM

25
#909 - g10181255 / @g10181255

09/07/2015 at 08:44PM

25
#910 - Hank Chinaski / @uktechman

04/22/2016 at 04:35PM

25
#911 - Allen Gooch / @mojochao

01/12/2017 at 07:31PM

25
#912 - hansim / @hanstartup

12/05/2018 at 03:43AM

26
#913 - Hendrik Lammers / @hendriklammers

07/08/2015 at 06:12PM

26
#914 - Kyle Fuller / @kylefuller

07/17/2015 at 01:46AM

26
#915 - Global Maquereau / @GlobalMaquereau

07/21/2015 at 10:59AM

26
#916 - Scott Traver / @ScottTraver

07/31/2015 at 03:40PM

26
#917 - Paul Roe / @ep_roe

08/25/2016 at 05:37PM

27
#918 - Kasparas Lavrukaitis / @kaslvr

11/06/2018 at 04:41PM

28
#919 - Nicola A / @aitkenster

07/15/2015 at 02:42PM

28
#920 - Andrew Michaud / @andrewjmichaud

09/03/2015 at 11:53PM

28
#921 - Kevin Cooler / @KevinCooler

08/10/2018 at 04:39PM

29
#922 - Shunichi Kanade / @shunkana

11/04/2018 at 01:30AM

29
#923 - Kyle Safran / @kylesafran

01/19/2019 at 03:43AM

30
#924 - Flugsio / @flugsio

03/10/2017 at 01:09PM

30
#925 - CptBong / @cpt1bong

12/01/2018 at 06:55AM

33
#926 - Christopher Wells / @ExcaliburZero_Z

12/11/2015 at 12:02PM

38
#927 - Bob Kepford / @kepford

02/23/2016 at 07:47AM

38
#928 - tuyen / @tuyen66827418

11/27/2018 at 02:53PM

44
#929 - Awakening George / @GeorgeC_monster

12/27/2018 at 08:04PM

55
#930 - Pratap Koritala / @pratap_koritala

02/17/2016 at 05:28PM