Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 55e704665f560803fa000001

Assign numbers to fields

You are given a list of space-separated strings. Add an increasing numeric prefix to each one.

Start file
CHROM POS ID REF ALT QUAL FILTER INFO FORMAT
End file
0:CHROM 1:POS 2:ID 3:REF 4:ALT 5:QUAL 6:FILTER 7:INFO 8:FORMAT

View Diff

1c1
< CHROM POS ID REF ALT QUAL FILTER INFO FORMAT
---
> 0:CHROM 1:POS 2:ID 3:REF 4:ALT 5:QUAL 6:FILTER 7:INFO 8:FORMAT

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 34 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#35 Roland Hougs / OminousWater - Score: 20 - 04/21/16 @ 19:55
i0:<Esc>0qqy2lWPh<C-A>q7@qZZ

0 comments

#36 Gurukandhamoorthi / Gurukandhamoor1 - Score: 20 - 09/03/17 @ 16:49
I0:<Esc>bqqv yWPh<C-A>q7@qZZ

0 comments

#37 Yaroslav Kanarev / yarosurabu - Score: 21 - 09/07/15 @ 15:32
i0:<Esc>hqqy2w3wPh<C-A>q7@qZZ

0 comments

#38 Jorge / jherreso - Score: 21 - 07/27/17 @ 02:48
i0:<Esc>lqqyBWPh<C-A>llq7@qZZ

0 comments

#39 oscar / zonza_mas - Score: 22 - 09/02/15 @ 15:01
i0:<Esc>0qay WP<C-A>a:<Esc>bq7@aZZ

0 comments

#40 Joey / joeyism101 - Score: 22 - 09/04/15 @ 13:41
i0:<Esc>hqav yWPh<C-A>q7@a:wq<CR>

0 comments

#41 ORchard test / BilboBrovall - Score: 22 - 09/22/15 @ 19:30
i0:<Esc>hqqvyWP<C-A>a:<Esc>Bq7@qZZ

0 comments

#42 Andrew Michaud / andrewjmichaud - Score: 47 - 09/03/15 @ 22:27
i0:<Esc>Wi1:<Esc>Wi2:<Esc>Wi3:<Esc>Wi4:<Esc>Wi5:<Esc>Wi6:<Esc>Wi7:<Esc>Wi8:<Esc>:x<CR>

0 comments

#43 Wes Whitney / wes_whitney - Score: 58 - 09/03/15 @ 02:43
i0:<Esc>wwi0<BS>1:<Esc>wwi2:<Esc>wwi3:<Esc>wwi4:<Esc>wwi5:<Esc>wwi6:<Esc>wwi7:<Esc>wwi8:<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments

Created by: lifepillar

43 active golfers, 75 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
19
#1 - Urtica dioica / udioica

09/02/2015 at 02:36PM

19
#2 - John Braxler / braxler

09/02/2015 at 04:44PM

19
#3 - Mutter Mumble / muttermumble

09/02/2015 at 05:09PM

19
#4 - Dmitry Zudochkin / vredniy

09/02/2015 at 06:27PM

19
#5 - Mart T / xtimmu

09/02/2015 at 06:56PM

19
#6 - Petro Тrouq / zulolosi

09/03/2015 at 04:38AM

19
#7 - A / Tower_1980

09/03/2015 at 12:07PM

19
#8 - Gabriel Florit / gabrielflorit

09/05/2015 at 08:29AM

19
#9 - JS / jjohsan

09/05/2015 at 04:24PM

19
#10 - T A / SirAviles

09/07/2015 at 09:45PM

19
#11 - Tamas Gal / tamasgal

09/10/2015 at 05:45AM

19
#12 - Mike Adams / davis_cromwell

10/01/2015 at 06:39PM

19
#13 - Walker Boh / walker_boh

10/05/2015 at 12:34PM

19
#14 - Jon Krause / jkrause314

10/18/2015 at 01:33AM

19
#15 - merphant / merphant

10/24/2015 at 06:05AM

19
#16 - Robert Clark / rsclark2

01/16/2016 at 03:47PM

19
#17 - Carlos A Henríquez Q / lagunex

03/13/2016 at 09:27PM

19
#18 - Foo Bar / foobar01123

06/02/2016 at 08:38PM

19
#19 - Pierre Maoui / poupougnac

01/01/2017 at 10:44AM

19
#20 - 梧桐王子 / WutongYujie

09/27/2017 at 11:36AM

19
#21 - Bradley M. Small / BradleySmall

11/23/2017 at 04:16AM

20
#22 - Joel Gallant / joelg236

09/02/2015 at 02:59PM

20
#23 - Kai Yuan / kentyuan

09/02/2015 at 03:07PM

20
#24 - kungfuchad / kungfuchad

09/02/2015 at 05:57PM

20
#25 - James / Dronak

09/02/2015 at 08:37PM

20
#26 - Restroom Sounds / RestroomSounds

09/03/2015 at 04:04AM

20
#27 - Sam Grigg / samgrigg

09/03/2015 at 05:24AM

20
#28 - Paulo Romeira / pauloromeira

09/03/2015 at 08:57AM

20
#29 - Dan Moldovan / Lenea92

09/03/2015 at 12:54PM

20
#30 - João Carvalho / joaoCarvas

09/03/2015 at 01:14PM

20
#31 - Aleksey N. / AlexNagits

09/05/2015 at 05:42PM

20
#32 - Nicholas Marrone / nickmarrone

09/05/2015 at 09:07PM

20
#33 - Ben Vandervalk / benvvalk

09/14/2015 at 04:41AM

20
#34 - Tom Cammann / tea_sea

09/14/2015 at 03:33PM

20
#35 - Roland Hougs / OminousWater

04/21/2016 at 07:55PM

20
#36 - Gurukandhamoorthi / Gurukandhamoor1

09/03/2017 at 04:49PM

21
#37 - Yaroslav Kanarev / yarosurabu

09/07/2015 at 03:32PM

21
#38 - Jorge / jherreso

07/27/2017 at 02:48AM

22
#39 - oscar / zonza_mas

09/02/2015 at 03:01PM

22
#40 - Joey / joeyism101

09/04/2015 at 01:41PM

22
#41 - ORchard test / BilboBrovall

09/22/2015 at 07:30PM

47
#42 - Andrew Michaud / andrewjmichaud

09/03/2015 at 10:27PM

58
#43 - Wes Whitney / wes_whitney

09/03/2015 at 02:43AM