Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 596dd9ca448256000c000011

Array transposition

Transpose two arrays into one.

Start file
[1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0]
[a,b,c,d,e,f,g,h,i,j]
End file
[1,a,2,b,3,c,4,d,5,e,6,f,7,g,8,h,9,i,0,j]

View Diff

1,2c1
< [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,0]
< [a,b,c,d,e,f,g,h,i,j]
---
> [1,a,2,b,3,c,4,d,5,e,6,f,7,g,8,h,9,i,0,j]

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 419 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#420 Tony Ren / @STXSoulMine - Score: 227 - 08/04/17 @ 16:30
jlveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeexklpbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehxlpbbbbbbbbbbbbbbveeeeeeeeeeeeeehxlphhhhhhhhhhhhvllllllllllllxlphhhhhhhhhhhlvllllllllllxlphhhhhhhhvllllllllxlphhhhhhvllllllxlphhhhvllllxlphhvllxlpxli, j<Esc>hx:<Esc>wjdd:w<CR>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @juancolacelli

420 active golfers, 2231 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
27
#301 - Philippe / @cloonn1

11/03/2017 at 09:36PM

27
#302 - Philipp Aeschbach / @ihbmifqerg

11/09/2017 at 04:36PM

27
#303 - James Houghton / @jamesthoughton

12/14/2017 at 06:58AM

27
#304 - Marcos Almeida / @almeidamarcos_

04/13/2018 at 11:20PM

27
#305 - Brandon Harrison / @llAboutB

09/24/2019 at 06:31PM

27
#306 - RockerZZY / @rocker_zzy

06/07/2020 at 02:49AM

27
#307 - drGsus / @drGsus

07/26/2020 at 10:18AM

28
#308 - Denis Kaluznyy / @Spy_Denis

07/18/2017 at 12:26PM

28
#309 - Anton Styagun / @astyagun

07/18/2017 at 02:29PM

28
#310 - blamitter ✏️ / @blamitter

07/18/2017 at 05:31PM

28
#311 - Gavin Faris / @gavin_faris

08/25/2017 at 07:15PM

28
#312 - Daniel Wang / @npbool

08/29/2017 at 11:39AM

28
#313 - Jay Honnold / @zombywafflez

08/29/2017 at 09:33PM

28
#314 - sehe / @sehetw

10/10/2017 at 01:26PM

28
#315 - Petar Saulic / @gorillawarfare9

11/04/2017 at 11:49PM

28
#316 - Tommaso Leonardi / @tom_leon

11/28/2017 at 03:58PM

28
#317 - Kim Hwa Joong / @hanmwoi

12/21/2017 at 12:47PM

28
#318 - TpouHuK / @TpouHuK_

01/27/2018 at 08:31AM

28
#319 - Scott Kidder / @scottkidder

03/15/2018 at 05:05PM

28
#320 - Jay Knight / @jayknight

05/03/2018 at 04:32PM

28
#321 - frank p / @icedearth55

05/11/2018 at 02:49PM

28
#322 - Jonathan Camilleri / @Too_Many_Taken

05/24/2018 at 01:06PM

28
#323 - Kris Ezra / @kris_ezra

06/13/2018 at 04:16AM

28
#324 - Guilherme Costa / @guidohcosta

07/21/2018 at 11:58AM

28
#325 - volandkit / @volandkit

04/22/2020 at 07:25PM

28
#326 - mindgitrwx / @mindgitrwx

08/02/2020 at 08:34AM

28
#327 - Demian Martinez / @demianuco

11/02/2020 at 01:09PM

29
#328 - Agung Tiso Sorlawan / @Tisorlawan

07/18/2017 at 05:03PM

29
#329 - Gurukandhamoorthi / @Gurukandhamoor1

07/18/2017 at 05:06PM

29
#330 - William Dunand / @wdunand

07/24/2017 at 01:08AM