Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5c742a5a50bdf70006d43280

Box it

Create a box around a line.

Start file
My dream is to be in a box
End file
###############################
# My dream was to be in a box #
###############################

View Diff

1c1,3
< My dream is to be in a box
---
> ###############################
> # My dream was to be in a box #
> ###############################

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 1228 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#1229 Daniel Snitkovskiy / @DSnitkovskiy - Score: 198 - 04/07/19 @ 06:27
i<CR>jk<BS><BS><Esc>:source .vimrc<CR>$i<Right><CR>#jkbwyiwpppppp0ywppp$XXbbBBbbbbbbppppp0ywpppp$###bbjkjk<Esc><CR>nijkbbbbbbbbi# jkkjk$i##jk/my<CR><Esc>nn<CR><CR>jk$ijXjkxXjkki###jXjkXxkji<Right> #<CR><BS>jkhllw$i####jkjbbbbbbbbxiwajkbbbbbb$i#jkjji#jk:x<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @TitouanT_

1229 active golfers, 5149 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
22
#331 - Lory / @Lory46845742

10/29/2019 at 10:53AM

22
#332 - Tokos Apos / @AposTokosapos

11/04/2019 at 09:56AM

22
#333 - fritz_carraldo / @fritz_carraldo

11/08/2019 at 04:13AM

22
#334 - Gianluca Scacco / @gscacco

11/09/2019 at 09:21PM

22
#335 - Lei Kin / @kireinasorakin

11/12/2019 at 10:57AM

22
#336 - Sebastien Premont / @spremont

11/12/2019 at 02:37PM

22
#337 - zlogan / @zlogan2003

11/24/2019 at 04:20PM

22
#338 - Przemysław Michalak / @dambusio

11/25/2019 at 07:43PM

22
#339 - Eric Johnson / @dej79

12/03/2019 at 07:36AM

22
#340 - John Prescott / @wladeczek44

12/11/2019 at 07:56PM

22
#341 - heyyou / @hey3you3

12/12/2019 at 11:29PM

22
#342 - hokonch / @hokonch

12/24/2019 at 11:58AM

22
#343 - Tefe / @tefetic

01/02/2020 at 08:52AM

22
#344 - Chrostopher Leu / @shaggadalic

01/09/2020 at 12:49PM

22
#345 - Felix Boers / @felixboers

01/12/2020 at 04:45PM

22
#346 - 밤색 / @aeisura

01/16/2020 at 04:58AM

22
#347 - Rune Warhuus / @DinkDonkNorway

01/21/2020 at 05:58PM

22
#348 - Renns / @Renns95250521

02/07/2020 at 11:32PM

22
#349 - Matthew / @Burfield12

02/17/2020 at 10:59PM

22
#350 - Chris League / @chrisleague

02/22/2020 at 09:03PM

23
#351 - John Braxler / @braxler

02/25/2019 at 09:41PM

23
#352 - Smylers / @Smylers2

02/25/2019 at 11:20PM

23
#353 - Jon Krause / @jkrause314

02/26/2019 at 02:54AM

23
#354 - Benoit Benoit / @Benoit_Tgt

02/26/2019 at 08:20AM

23
#355 - Saki Gw / @Sakigw

02/26/2019 at 10:02AM

23
#356 - Roger Stoltz / @rogsto1

02/26/2019 at 04:52PM

23
#357 - BaffaloP 🐃🎨 / @bbaffalopp

02/26/2019 at 08:20PM

23
#358 - T A / @SirAviles

02/26/2019 at 09:31PM

23
#359 - noisevoid / @noisevoid

02/28/2019 at 02:23AM

23
#360 - Ivo Tripunovic / @ivo_tripunovic

02/28/2019 at 04:14PM