Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5c742a5a50bdf70006d43280

Box it

Create a box around a line.

Start file
My dream is to be in a box
End file
###############################
# My dream was to be in a box #
###############################

View Diff

1c1,3
< My dream is to be in a box
---
> ###############################
> # My dream was to be in a box #
> ###############################

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 675 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#676 Daniel Snitkovskiy / @DSnitkovskiy - Score: 198 - 04/07/19 @ 06:27
i<CR>jk<BS><BS><Esc>:source .vimrc<CR>$i<Right><CR>#jkbwyiwpppppp0ywppp$XXbbBBbbbbbbppppp0ywpppp$###bbjkjk<Esc><CR>nijkbbbbbbbbi# jkkjk$i##jk/my<CR><Esc>nn<CR><CR>jk$ijXjkxXjkki###jXjkXxkji<Right> #<CR><BS>jkhllw$i####jkjbbbbbbbbxiwajkbbbbbb$i#jkjji#jk:x<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @TitouanT_

676 active golfers, 2798 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
29
#451 - berp / @blerpaderp

04/19/2019 at 07:51PM

29
#452 - rvnjsphdmn / @rvnjsphdmn

04/30/2019 at 03:41AM

29
#453 - Fiffy / @sr21486642

05/06/2019 at 02:22PM

29
#454 - chihiro / @chihiro0940

05/09/2019 at 01:27PM

29
#455 - Sam Gentle / @Zanzibar_1sland

05/22/2019 at 04:10AM

29
#456 - Gar Morley / @garmorley

05/24/2019 at 03:57PM

29
#457 - Murmus / @MurmusCTF

06/03/2019 at 02:31PM

29
#458 - deHman89 / @danho89

06/04/2019 at 01:56PM

29
#459 - Philip / @vCoRezZ

06/06/2019 at 11:19AM

29
#460 - Zevurari / @zevurari

06/06/2019 at 08:41PM

29
#461 - Sai Praneeth Reddy / @rm_rfasterisk

06/25/2019 at 05:21AM

29
#462 - cinder 🔥 / @cyndrdev

06/27/2019 at 04:33PM

29
#463 - Floyd Gantt / @fgantt

06/27/2019 at 06:13PM

29
#464 - kasper / @kasper72454971

06/30/2019 at 05:45PM

29
#465 - Giulio Bottari / @giuliobottari

07/05/2019 at 03:23AM

29
#466 - Diego Balseiro / @diegobalseiro

07/10/2019 at 02:55AM

29
#467 - mirsemen / @mirsemen1

07/14/2019 at 03:51PM

29
#468 - sztolabs / @sztolabs

07/17/2019 at 07:26AM

30
#469 - Andrew Shu / @montooner

03/10/2019 at 02:17AM

30
#470 - 임하정 / @m9XhkZL9XpMgt47

03/10/2019 at 07:27AM

30
#471 - Sarang Khim / @sarang_khim

03/11/2019 at 02:27AM

30
#472 - Alex Mihov / @AlexMihov

03/21/2019 at 10:49AM

30
#473 - Joseph A Shalabi / @JosephShalabi

04/03/2019 at 04:28PM

30
#474 - Slava Kim / @imslavko

04/11/2019 at 09:52PM

30
#475 - EarthToAbigail / @EarthAbigail

04/14/2019 at 03:57PM

30
#476 - tapio / @gncnaxb

04/18/2019 at 12:01PM

30
#477 - Sam Miller / @sam_miller93

04/24/2019 at 01:50PM

30
#478 - Mekhi Thomas / @ReelGreenRanger

04/24/2019 at 02:23PM

30
#479 - Andy / @_andys8

04/27/2019 at 03:50PM

30
#480 - りょ / @ryoo141

05/08/2019 at 01:15PM