Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5c742a5a50bdf70006d43280

Box it

Create a box around a line.

Start file
My dream is to be in a box
End file
###############################
# My dream was to be in a box #
###############################

View Diff

1c1,3
< My dream is to be in a box
---
> ###############################
> # My dream was to be in a box #
> ###############################

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 861 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#862 Daniel Snitkovskiy / @DSnitkovskiy - Score: 198 - 04/07/19 @ 06:27
i<CR>jk<BS><BS><Esc>:source .vimrc<CR>$i<Right><CR>#jkbwyiwpppppp0ywppp$XXbbBBbbbbbbppppp0ywpppp$###bbjkjk<Esc><CR>nijkbbbbbbbbi# jkkjk$i##jk/my<CR><Esc>nn<CR><CR>jk$ijXjkxXjkki###jXjkXxkji<Right> #<CR><BS>jkhllw$i####jkjbbbbbbbbxiwajkbbbbbb$i#jkjji#jk:x<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @TitouanT_

862 active golfers, 3565 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
29
#571 - throwaway / @throwaw77650361

03/05/2019 at 07:22PM

29
#572 - sisi100 / @s1si100

03/06/2019 at 08:30AM

29
#573 - Eric Harm / @eric_harm

03/07/2019 at 06:58PM

29
#574 - ccoffee_addictt / @ccoffee_addictt

03/21/2019 at 09:38PM

29
#575 - StrangeNumbers / @NumbersStrange

03/28/2019 at 11:29AM

29
#576 - z3NIYXabiuI5rE62tjWYAcytyqJ8hIB7i0TA4LF0ELwTvVUmaq / @Z3I5r

04/06/2019 at 03:59AM

29
#577 - koziejka_com / @koziejka_com

04/11/2019 at 10:30AM

29
#578 - berp / @blerpaderp

04/19/2019 at 07:51PM

29
#579 - rvnjsphdmn / @rvnjsphdmn

04/30/2019 at 03:41AM

29
#580 - Fiffy / @sr21486642

05/06/2019 at 02:22PM

29
#581 - chihiro / @chihiro0940

05/09/2019 at 01:27PM

29
#582 - Sam Gentle / @Zanzibar_1sland

05/22/2019 at 04:10AM

29
#583 - Gar Morley / @garmorley

05/24/2019 at 03:57PM

29
#584 - Murmus / @MurmusCTF

06/03/2019 at 02:31PM

29
#585 - deHman89 / @danho89

06/04/2019 at 01:56PM

29
#586 - Philip / @vCoRezZ

06/06/2019 at 11:19AM

29
#587 - Zevurari / @zevurari

06/06/2019 at 08:41PM

29
#588 - Sai Praneeth Reddy / @rm_rfasterisk

06/25/2019 at 05:21AM

29
#589 - cinder 🔥 / @cyndrdev

06/27/2019 at 04:33PM

29
#590 - Floyd Gantt / @fgantt

06/27/2019 at 06:13PM

29
#591 - kasper / @kasper72454971

06/30/2019 at 05:45PM

29
#592 - Giulio Bottari / @giuliobottari

07/05/2019 at 03:23AM

29
#593 - Diego Balseiro / @diegobalseiro

07/10/2019 at 02:55AM

29
#594 - mirsemen / @mirsemen1

07/14/2019 at 03:51PM

29
#595 - sztolabs / @sztolabs

07/17/2019 at 07:26AM

29
#596 - Drew Gottlieb / @Drew_Gottlieb

07/20/2019 at 05:00AM

29
#597 - Moritz Manner / @moritz_manner

08/13/2019 at 09:09PM

29
#598 - Jack Mooney / @jmooney7

08/22/2019 at 08:03AM

29
#599 - Marcin Krajewski / @mkrajewski_

08/29/2019 at 09:08AM

30
#600 - Andrew Shu / @montooner

03/10/2019 at 02:17AM