Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5d7f565deac0df000cfc2154

Line under headers

Put a line under each header, and remove the other markdown formatting.

Start file
## Headers

## To

## Underline
End file
Headers
-------

Are
---

Underlined
----------

View Diff

1c1,2
< ## Headers
---
> Headers
> -------
3c4,5
< ## To
---
> Are
> ---
5c7,8
< ## Underline
---
> Underlined
> ----------

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 449 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#450 Matt Deakos / @MattDeakos - Score: 67 - 11/28/19 @ 04:28
dtHo<C-O>7i-<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>2jccAre<CR>---<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>jjdbxAd<CR><C-O>10i-<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @rax0m

450 active golfers, 1817 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
40
#391 - Larry Adames / @LarryAdames

01/19/2020 at 01:11AM

40
#392 - Tom Aisthorpe / @tomaisthorpe

01/30/2020 at 03:40PM

40
#393 - Strages / @Strages2k

02/23/2020 at 02:22AM

40
#394 - Nicolas Daval / @ndaval

04/30/2020 at 12:15PM

40
#395 - dotvimrc / @dotvimrc1

05/16/2020 at 04:34PM

40
#396 - drGsus / @drGsus

07/25/2020 at 06:52AM

40
#397 - Thiago Becker / @beckert

08/06/2020 at 04:52PM

41
#398 - m1t0z / @m1t0z1

09/25/2019 at 06:48PM

41
#399 - Jordan Joe Watson / @jordanjoewatson

12/01/2020 at 09:12PM

42
#400 - ~• Isaac [5] •~ / @isac_frusgoffer

10/17/2019 at 10:58PM

42
#401 - Steve Racanovic / @steve_racanovic

12/17/2019 at 10:18PM

42
#402 - Bitt Faulk / @bittfaulk

02/20/2020 at 08:52PM

43
#403 - Adam Bumpus / @bumpus_adam

10/01/2019 at 01:36PM

43
#404 - Roman / @Romezzz_

11/09/2019 at 07:40AM

43
#405 - Bida Wa / @bida_wa

11/27/2019 at 04:58PM

43
#406 - Daniel Vaqueiro / @chimidea

12/09/2019 at 07:40PM

43
#407 - jackjsk / @jackjsk1

01/17/2020 at 04:17AM

43
#408 - bigsystem / @bigsystem2

05/28/2020 at 02:50PM

43
#409 - fff / @fff51460170

01/13/2021 at 03:23AM

44
#410 - 0x3bb5 / @0x3bb5

09/19/2019 at 04:38PM

44
#411 - samet ぷ / @jssamet

03/01/2020 at 08:12PM

44
#412 - Andrii / @Andrii61628511

03/21/2020 at 02:38PM

45
#413 - Nick Argyle / @nickargyle

10/13/2019 at 03:13AM

45
#414 - Christophe Kafrouni / @KafrouniChris

04/30/2020 at 04:42PM

46
#415 - sspan / @sspantz

09/23/2019 at 02:28AM

46
#416 - John Poon / @shinvalor

12/29/2019 at 08:43PM

46
#417 - David Cherednik / @david_cherednik

05/22/2020 at 06:56PM

46
#418 - Andreas Burg / @der_abu

10/10/2020 at 12:41PM

47
#419 - Michael Haddad / @mrhaddad

09/16/2019 at 03:32PM

47
#420 - Thomas Edlich / @grumpybavarian

09/27/2019 at 08:56PM