Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a6a8eb8cb34093200007a

Reconstruct the Sentence

Get the sentence back in the proper order, remove duplicate lines, and then combine the separate lines into one.

Start file
time you're 7
in the 4
proper order 5
will be 2
by the 5
by the 5
put back 3
Vim! 10
done with 8
put back 3
This sentence 1
it in 9
End file
This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

View Diff

1,12c1
< time you're 7
< in the 4
< proper order 5
< will be 2
< by the 5
< by the 5
< put back 3
< Vim! 10
< done with 8
< put back 3
< This sentence 1
< it in 9
---
> This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 382 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#383 Maurice Schmicking / @m_schmicking - Score: 175 - 04/03/23 @ 22:16
10jddggO<Esc>pkddA<BS><Esc>4jkjddgg$pi<BS><Esc>$s6j<Esc>xx6jddgg$ojdd<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>ddjjjjjjjddgg$pi<BS><Esc>A<BS><Esc>3jkddgg$pi<BS><Esc>$x<Esc>2jddggpuuddkkpu<C-R>i<Down><BS><Esc>$<BS>xxi <BS><Right> <Esc>2jddggpi<BS><Esc>$xwi<BS><Esc>$x<Esc>3jddggpi<BS><Esc>A<BS><Esc>Gddggpi<BS><Esc>jddi<BS><BS><Esc>A<BS><BS><BS><Esc>ll<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @elasticdog

383 active golfers, 1363 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
31
#361 - Kudryavtsev Alexandr / @kudryav_a

12/16/2012 at 07:18PM

31
#362 - fuku1026 / @fukusuke1026

07/13/2017 at 02:15PM

31
#363 - joao neto / @joaonet49907796

05/17/2021 at 01:39PM

33
#364 - Will Furnass / @WillFurnass

05/08/2012 at 09:52PM

34
#365 - crainist / @crainist

12/30/2010 at 09:06PM

34
#366 - Olivier B├ęgassat / @zk_evm

06/16/2023 at 01:39AM

39
#367 - Vimfiz / @vimfiz

05/29/2019 at 09:02PM

40
#368 - Nacho Barrientos / @nachobarrientos

12/29/2010 at 01:34PM

44
#369 - DJ Adams / @qmacro

12/29/2010 at 05:43PM

46
#370 - JimmyGymglish / @JGymglish

01/15/2020 at 03:24PM

46
#371 - Zach Lapidus / @zach_lapidus

05/25/2021 at 02:41AM

46
#372 - steve / @steve35773420

03/04/2023 at 06:39PM

55
#373 - Jordan Lewis / @JordanALewis

12/28/2010 at 11:18PM

61
#374 - xiaoao1024 / @xiaoao1024

12/22/2023 at 09:27AM

69
#375 - Heath Ritchie / @heathritchie

11/13/2012 at 03:16PM

70
#376 - Jurica / @Jurica34581259

11/19/2018 at 08:51PM

78
#377 - Afzal Hussain / @afzalhussain23

04/10/2024 at 01:37PM

88
#378 - Tom Morris / @tommorris

12/30/2010 at 08:16AM

89
#379 - Kory Newton / @korynewton

02/04/2024 at 04:24AM

95
#380 - drio / @drio

12/29/2010 at 11:05PM

113
#381 - 3eneliath / @3eneliath

03/19/2024 at 10:30PM

164
#382 - Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2

01/27/2014 at 02:14AM

175
#383 - Maurice Schmicking / @m_schmicking

04/03/2023 at 10:16PM