Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a6a8eb8cb34093200007a

Reconstruct the Sentence

Get the sentence back in the proper order, remove duplicate lines, and then combine the separate lines into one.

Start file
time you're 7
in the 4
proper order 5
will be 2
by the 5
by the 5
put back 3
Vim! 10
done with 8
put back 3
This sentence 1
it in 9
End file
This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

View Diff

1,12c1
< time you're 7
< in the 4
< proper order 5
< will be 2
< by the 5
< by the 5
< put back 3
< Vim! 10
< done with 8
< put back 3
< This sentence 1
< it in 9
---
> This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 345 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#346 Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2 - Score: 164 - 01/27/14 @ 02:14
jjjjjjjjjjdd0ggpuPjjjjddkkkpuPjjjjjjddkkkkkPjjd2dkP<Down><Down><Down>ddkkpkkkjjjjjjkkjddjkkjjddkPjjjddkPjjdd:%s/ \d//g<CR>u:%s/ \d*/<Left>$<Right>/g<CR>dd<Up><Down>A<Esc>u<Up>ou<Esc>uo<Esc>uJ<Up>J<Up>uu<Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up>JJJJJJJJJ:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @elasticdog

346 active golfers, 1141 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
20
#91 - kimber gonzalez / @kimberlycreates

01/20/2015 at 07:48PM

20
#92 - Liam Thurston / @lthurston188

08/17/2015 at 06:26AM

20
#93 - Jon Krause / @jkrause314

12/28/2015 at 03:58PM

20
#94 - Peeby Thirtyone / @peeby31

02/20/2016 at 07:38PM

20
#95 - Ameen P / @Ameen_P1

08/07/2016 at 12:58AM

20
#96 - Will / @obiwan__k3n00bi

08/10/2016 at 04:16AM

20
#97 - jj johnson / @jcassj1

08/23/2016 at 11:50AM

20
#98 - Saurav Mitra / @SauravMitra11

12/31/2016 at 12:07PM

20
#99 - Zhihong Liu / @pieapple03

03/03/2017 at 04:46PM

20
#100 - Remus Dalrymple / @bornintheflames

05/09/2017 at 06:39AM

20
#101 - jakeroberts / @jakeroberts

05/28/2017 at 03:37AM

20
#102 - Turkey Man / @lvturkeyman

11/23/2017 at 09:36AM

20
#103 - Brandon Blakeley / @zkelvin

11/27/2017 at 04:23AM

20
#104 - BarbaJol / @drpproteus

01/03/2018 at 09:38AM

20
#105 - DHM / @DHM29978992

04/30/2018 at 02:13AM

20
#106 - name / @name65894813

11/28/2018 at 04:52PM

20
#107 - Dax / @zacoxi

12/05/2018 at 07:36AM

20
#108 - alekfed / @alek_fed

04/16/2019 at 12:19PM

20
#109 - majo senf / @majo_senf

06/21/2019 at 03:42PM

20
#110 - Miłosz Łakomy / @foobar01123

01/08/2020 at 06:01AM

20
#111 - Georg Bökman / @BokmanGeorg

07/06/2021 at 02:05PM

20
#112 - Jung Yeon Park / @park_jungy

08/08/2021 at 07:40PM

20
#113 - Scott Berger / @scottberger

09/25/2021 at 09:49PM

20
#114 - Pedro Minicz / @pedrominicz

03/26/2022 at 09:22PM

20
#115 - russellzhaomao / @russellzhaomao

05/25/2022 at 02:59AM

20
#116 - josh / @_zvjos

06/18/2022 at 10:37PM

20
#117 - Andreas Näsman / @andreas_nasman

06/19/2022 at 08:46PM

21
#118 - Leonard Chin / @lchin

12/29/2010 at 12:04PM

21
#119 - Nadja Untendiegruft / @nadjau

12/29/2010 at 02:56PM

21
#120 - Josh Weinberg / @jcweinberg

12/29/2010 at 06:46PM