Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a6a8eb8cb34093200007a

Reconstruct the Sentence

Get the sentence back in the proper order, remove duplicate lines, and then combine the separate lines into one.

Start file
time you're 7
in the 4
proper order 5
will be 2
by the 5
by the 5
put back 3
Vim! 10
done with 8
put back 3
This sentence 1
it in 9
End file
This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

View Diff

1,12c1
< time you're 7
< in the 4
< proper order 5
< will be 2
< by the 5
< by the 5
< put back 3
< Vim! 10
< done with 8
< put back 3
< This sentence 1
< it in 9
---
> This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 382 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#383 Maurice Schmicking / @m_schmicking - Score: 175 - 04/03/23 @ 22:16
10jddggO<Esc>pkddA<BS><Esc>4jkjddgg$pi<BS><Esc>$s6j<Esc>xx6jddgg$ojdd<Esc><Esc><Esc><Esc>ddjjjjjjjddgg$pi<BS><Esc>A<BS><Esc>3jkddgg$pi<BS><Esc>$x<Esc>2jddggpuuddkkpu<C-R>i<Down><BS><Esc>$<BS>xxi <BS><Right> <Esc>2jddggpi<BS><Esc>$xwi<BS><Esc>$x<Esc>3jddggpi<BS><Esc>A<BS><Esc>Gddggpi<BS><Esc>jddi<BS><BS><Esc>A<BS><BS><BS><Esc>ll<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @elasticdog

383 active golfers, 1363 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
20
#121 - math is what I hate / @mpnmbn

10/29/2022 at 06:47PM

20
#122 - Zion Park / @zionpark93

12/18/2022 at 06:50AM

20
#123 - Александр Моисеев / @Aleksan43607471

01/20/2023 at 12:02PM

20
#124 - Vgaccount645 / @vgaccount616132

04/15/2023 at 06:34PM

20
#125 - Gs Abl / @gs_abl

06/30/2023 at 02:03PM

20
#126 - Golf Vim / @GolfVim11388

07/01/2023 at 12:20AM

20
#127 - Topvimgolf Score / @topvimgolfscore

07/09/2023 at 08:50AM

20
#128 - Michel Ehmen / @MichelEhmen

08/11/2023 at 03:11PM

20
#129 - Tim Sabsch / @tsabsch

08/11/2023 at 03:14PM

20
#130 - Honza Uhlík / @JanUhlik

09/20/2023 at 12:09PM

20
#131 - Chris Atanasian / @chrisatanasian

11/20/2023 at 11:38PM

20
#132 - weixiaobaoL / @weixiaobaoL

01/03/2024 at 07:18AM

20
#133 - 5S-MOHAMED-SHABAIK / @5S-MOHAMED-SHABAIK

01/12/2024 at 12:59PM

20
#134 - maxdarling / @maxdarling

02/03/2024 at 06:30PM

20
#135 - Simo Kivistö / @kivissimo

02/07/2024 at 08:11PM

20
#136 - evgenii-kokorin / @evgenii-kokorin

02/14/2024 at 08:36AM

20
#137 - schrjako / @schrjako

04/06/2024 at 09:33AM

21
#138 - Leonard Chin / @lchin

12/29/2010 at 12:04PM

21
#139 - Nadja Untendiegruft / @nadjau

12/29/2010 at 02:56PM

21
#140 - Josh Weinberg / @jcweinberg

12/29/2010 at 06:46PM

21
#141 - Paul King / @nrocy

12/29/2010 at 07:02PM

21
#142 - kana / @kana1

12/29/2010 at 07:30PM

21
#143 - Austin Taylor / @austintaylor

12/29/2010 at 09:46PM

21
#144 - Birgir Haraldsson / @bix0r

12/30/2010 at 09:24AM

21
#145 -  Ikhsan Maulana / @ixandidu

12/30/2010 at 10:04AM

21
#146 - Ben Lenarts / @benlenarts

12/30/2010 at 10:40AM

21
#147 - Brad / @bjjwillis

12/30/2010 at 11:16AM

21
#148 - Will Hardy / @whrde

12/30/2010 at 12:36PM

21
#149 - milkypostman / @milkypostman

12/30/2010 at 04:20PM

21
#150 - Ricardo Mendes / @locks

12/30/2010 at 08:10PM