Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1a6a8eb8cb34093200007a

Reconstruct the Sentence

Get the sentence back in the proper order, remove duplicate lines, and then combine the separate lines into one.

Start file
time you're 7
in the 4
proper order 5
will be 2
by the 5
by the 5
put back 3
Vim! 10
done with 8
put back 3
This sentence 1
it in 9
End file
This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

View Diff

1,12c1
< time you're 7
< in the 4
< proper order 5
< will be 2
< by the 5
< by the 5
< put back 3
< Vim! 10
< done with 8
< put back 3
< This sentence 1
< it in 9
---
> This sentence will be put back in the proper order by the time you're done with it in Vim!

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 345 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#346 Chirag Tailor / @ctailor2 - Score: 164 - 01/27/14 @ 02:14
jjjjjjjjjjdd0ggpuPjjjjddkkkpuPjjjjjjddkkkkkPjjd2dkP<Down><Down><Down>ddkkpkkkjjjjjjkkjddjkkjjddkPjjjddkPjjdd:%s/ \d//g<CR>u:%s/ \d*/<Left>$<Right>/g<CR>dd<Up><Down>A<Esc>u<Up>ou<Esc>uo<Esc>uJ<Up>J<Up>uu<Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up><Up>JJJJJJJJJ:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @elasticdog

346 active golfers, 1141 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
21
#151 - suhair hassan / @suhairhassan

12/28/2011 at 05:34AM

21
#152 - snuffling / @snuffling

02/13/2012 at 02:10AM

21
#153 - Vasil Sakarov / @vsakarov

02/17/2012 at 06:22PM

21
#154 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

02/22/2012 at 01:29PM

21
#155 - oliver mueller / @marcontwit

02/26/2012 at 06:33AM

21
#156 - Pawel Obrok / @mrYapee

03/13/2012 at 03:04PM

21
#157 - drupalovereasy / @drupalovereasy

04/15/2012 at 03:14AM

21
#158 - david ta / @tadavid

04/16/2012 at 12:56AM

21
#159 - mnx / @mnxx

05/09/2012 at 03:25PM

21
#160 - Kerson Hsiao / @KersonHsiao

07/23/2012 at 12:22PM

21
#161 - Tim Uruski / @timuruski

08/12/2012 at 01:14AM

21
#162 - Martin Petrov / @mgpetrov

08/23/2012 at 01:38PM

21
#163 - vansan / @VinceVansan

08/25/2012 at 05:31PM

21
#164 - tmr / @tmr314

09/08/2012 at 05:50PM

21
#165 - Tom Cammann / @tea_sea

10/12/2012 at 12:24PM

21
#166 - Darcy Parker / @DarcyParker

10/16/2012 at 06:15PM

21
#167 - G. Ahtune / @gahtune

11/03/2012 at 11:51AM

21
#168 - Marcin Szamotulski / @me_coot

11/22/2012 at 11:05PM

21
#169 - Lieven Keersmaekers / @LievenKeersmaek

12/15/2012 at 09:03PM

21
#170 - z0k / @z0k

12/19/2012 at 11:40PM

21
#171 - nirosys / @nirosys

01/17/2013 at 02:07AM

21
#172 - Tom Duijf / @tomduijf

01/29/2013 at 11:08PM

21
#173 - Steve Tjoa / @stevetjoa

01/30/2013 at 08:14AM

21
#174 - Kai Yuan / @kentyuan

02/21/2013 at 06:13PM

21
#175 - Claes Mogren / @claesmogren

03/23/2013 at 11:01PM

21
#176 - Tyler / @tylerbindon

03/31/2013 at 05:21AM

21
#177 - Eric Potter / @pottereric

06/07/2013 at 04:59PM

21
#178 - Nathan / @NathanHarperoni

07/24/2013 at 04:32PM

21
#179 - A / @Tower_1980

07/29/2013 at 01:55PM

21
#180 - cj / @cj01101

08/08/2013 at 07:51PM