Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1aaf2fb11838287d000036

Reverse characters in a line

You have everything you need, just not in the right order. Mastermind would give you 26 white pegs.

Start file
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
End file
zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba

View Diff

--- in	2010-12-28 19:41:39.000000000 -0800
+++ out	2010-12-28 19:41:59.000000000 -0800
@@ -1 +1 @@
-abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
+zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 235 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#236 Ricardo Mendes / @locks - Score: 194 - 12/30/10 @ 01:54
xpjhxplllllllllllllllllllllllxphhx$phhhx$phhhhx$phhhhhx$phhhhhhx$p7j7hx$p8hx$p9hx$p10hx$p11j11hx$10pup12hx$p13hx$p14hx$p15hx$p16hx$p17hx$p18hx$p19hx$p20hx$p21hx$p22hx$p23hx$p24hx$p25hx$p<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @josh_triplett

236 active golfers, 645 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#91 - Ben C / @cben

12/29/2010 at 07:15AM

15
#92 - foo bar / @whoever_foo

12/29/2010 at 07:25AM

15
#93 - johnny / @johnnychm

12/29/2010 at 01:11PM

15
#94 - Mikel Ward / @mikelward

12/30/2010 at 12:52PM

15
#95 - Akira Matsuda / @a_matsuda

12/30/2010 at 04:17PM

15
#96 -  Ikhsan Maulana / @ixandidu

12/30/2010 at 06:07PM

15
#97 - Douglas Stockwell / @dstockwell

12/30/2010 at 09:04PM

15
#98 - Alain Gilbert / @alain_gilbert

12/31/2010 at 09:35PM

15
#99 - larsd / @larsd

12/31/2010 at 09:43PM

15
#100 - Asmund / @herrasbe

01/02/2011 at 07:17AM

15
#101 - David Lam / @lamdk

01/02/2011 at 09:14AM

15
#102 - Stuart Gale / @bishboria

01/02/2011 at 07:41PM

15
#103 - Dan Smith / @untermrad

01/03/2011 at 07:16AM

15
#104 - Kyle Willmon / @kylewillmon

01/03/2011 at 05:22PM

15
#105 - Ravil Bayramgalin / @brainopia

01/08/2011 at 10:47PM

15
#106 - Andrey A. Ugolnik / @andreyugolnik

01/19/2011 at 06:33PM

15
#107 - ImABigWookie / @imabigwookie

01/31/2011 at 05:03AM

15
#108 - Rolf K. / @mindleftbody

06/17/2011 at 01:15PM

15
#109 - Andrey Ivanov / @Bytamine

08/10/2011 at 09:19AM

15
#110 - Trevor Powell / @DoomedBunnies

11/29/2011 at 05:19AM

15
#111 - fred6 / @_fred6

12/19/2011 at 04:30AM

15
#112 - Nolen Royalty / @NolenRoyalty

04/21/2012 at 02:46AM

15
#113 - Taylor Rose / @trose89

07/13/2012 at 10:18PM

15
#114 - Charles Gordon / @liberalbias

08/26/2012 at 12:29AM

15
#115 - tmr / @tmr314

09/05/2012 at 05:34PM

15
#116 - Darcy Parker / @DarcyParker

11/12/2012 at 04:03PM

15
#117 - JonLz / @LzJon

12/26/2012 at 08:09PM

15
#118 - Yann Moisan / @YannMoisan

02/02/2013 at 03:13PM

15
#119 - gnobbles / @gnobbles

03/30/2013 at 11:28PM

15
#120 - 张文远 / @zhwenyuan

05/24/2013 at 09:19AM