Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1aaf2fb11838287d000036

Reverse characters in a line

You have everything you need, just not in the right order. Mastermind would give you 26 white pegs.

Start file
abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
End file
zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba

View Diff

--- in	2010-12-28 19:41:39.000000000 -0800
+++ out	2010-12-28 19:41:59.000000000 -0800
@@ -1 +1 @@
-abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
+zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 238 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#239 Ricardo Mendes / @locks - Score: 194 - 12/30/10 @ 01:54
xpjhxplllllllllllllllllllllllxphhx$phhhx$phhhhx$phhhhhx$phhhhhhx$p7j7hx$p8hx$p9hx$p10hx$p11j11hx$10pup12hx$p13hx$p14hx$p15hx$p16hx$p17hx$p18hx$p19hx$p20hx$p21hx$p22hx$p23hx$p24hx$p25hx$p<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @josh_triplett

239 active golfers, 657 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
25
#211 - glennphillips / @glennphillips

07/12/2014 at 03:17AM

26
#212 - Oliver Christ / @0liverChrist

10/09/2013 at 09:23PM

27
#213 - Joe Hassick / @jhassick

12/29/2010 at 04:35PM

30
#214 - Nadja Untendiegruft / @nadjau

12/29/2010 at 10:52AM

30
#215 - Behnam Esfahbod / @zwnj

12/30/2010 at 12:51PM

30
#216 - Juan C. Muller / @juancmuller

12/31/2010 at 04:46AM

30
#217 - Nick / @quinks25

01/13/2011 at 09:30PM

31
#218 - lionel young / @lionelyoung

12/29/2010 at 07:47AM

31
#219 - Guillaume Bonnoron / @gbonnoron

12/31/2010 at 11:55AM

31
#220 - Dj Vimgolf / @dj_vimgolf

01/14/2012 at 06:08PM

32
#221 - drio / @drio

01/01/2011 at 01:30AM

32
#222 - ☣Rob Mason☠ / @necr0mancer

01/18/2011 at 11:30AM

33
#223 - Paul Tarjan / @ptarjan

12/29/2010 at 11:42AM

33
#224 - Ujjwol Lamichhane / @Ujjwol

12/29/2010 at 12:19PM

33
#225 - jonlorusso / @jonlorusso

12/29/2010 at 03:49PM

33
#226 - Adam Bachman / @abachman

12/29/2010 at 09:47PM

33
#227 - Rajit Singh / @rajitbsingh

12/29/2010 at 11:06PM

33
#228 - Lee Marlow / @lmarlow

12/29/2010 at 11:43PM

33
#229 - Julien Gormotte / @gormux

12/30/2010 at 09:47AM

34
#230 - Chris Lerum / @ChrisLerum

12/29/2010 at 05:15AM

34
#231 - Alison Rowland / @arowla

12/29/2010 at 05:59AM

35
#232 - It's Me / @soidid

12/29/2010 at 05:47AM

35
#233 - Scott Werner / @scottwisme

12/29/2010 at 02:31PM

36
#234 - Aleksander Balicki / @alekbalicki

12/29/2010 at 02:45PM

36
#235 - Карл / @tb_ism

08/02/2021 at 09:51AM

40
#236 - Abhishek Mukherjee / @abhishekmukherg

12/29/2010 at 04:11PM

47
#237 - Ajith Antony / @ajithantony

12/29/2010 at 12:30PM

54
#238 - shahanavaz m / @shahanavazm

02/13/2022 at 04:16AM

194
#239 - Ricardo Mendes / @locks

12/30/2010 at 01:54AM