Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1cc35a35b40650b800043a

Increment, increment, increment....

Vim likes macros

Start file
1
End file
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

View Diff

1a2,25
> 2
> 3
> 4
> 5
> 6
> 7
> 8
> 9
> 10
> 11
> 12
> 13
> 14
> 15
> 16
> 17
> 18
> 19
> 20
> 21
> 22
> 23
> 24
> 25

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 336 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#337 dixrow / @dixrow1 - Score: 112 - 10/22/19 @ 10:16
a<CR>2<CR>3<CR>4<CR>5<CR>6<CR>7<CR>8<CR>9<Esc>vggyGpi<CR><Esc>i1<Esc>j.j.j.j.j.j.j.j.<Esc>kkkkkkkkkkjjO10<Esc>jjjjjjjjjjjjjo<Esc>pi20<CR>2<BS><Esc>i2<Esc>j.j.j.j.j<Esc>dddddddd<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @rodmar_

337 active golfers, 493 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#301 - Performa / @performa6400

11/27/2018 at 01:47PM

12
#302 - timonegk / @timonegk

12/12/2018 at 11:22PM

12
#303 - Bennett / @bennettbackward

12/20/2018 at 07:59AM

12
#304 - Bart Kleijngeld / @BartKleijngeld

12/24/2018 at 08:00PM

12
#305 - Sigurður Ægir Jónsso / @siggiae

06/07/2019 at 11:49PM

12
#306 - Giggles MacChumpsworth / @macchumpsworth

07/03/2019 at 03:55AM

12
#307 - Himavanth Reddy / @Himavanth1909

08/12/2019 at 05:39AM

12
#308 - Kenny Low / @kennylow

08/30/2019 at 04:27PM

12
#309 - Ben Carney / @ben_carney

09/24/2019 at 05:15PM

13
#310 - Tommy Stanton / @tommystanton

12/30/2010 at 05:56PM

13
#311 - Jacob Buys / @wjbuys

12/30/2010 at 07:18PM

13
#312 - Paul Nicholson / @paulnicholson

12/30/2010 at 08:23PM

13
#313 - Logical Partition / @sdb9

12/30/2010 at 09:15PM

13
#314 - Guillaume Bonnoron / @gbonnoron

12/30/2010 at 10:01PM

13
#315 - Petr Blaho / @petrblaho

12/31/2010 at 12:20PM

13
#316 - Bjørn Fotland / @bfotland

12/31/2010 at 04:03PM

13
#317 - Brad Taylor / @robotsasquatch

12/31/2010 at 05:27PM

13
#318 - Joe Hassick / @jhassick

12/31/2010 at 07:41PM

13
#319 - Thedward the Edward / @thedward

01/01/2011 at 07:53AM

13
#320 - AD / @golferTest101

01/01/2011 at 03:47PM

13
#321 - Daniel Grippi / @danielgrippi

01/02/2011 at 12:40AM

13
#322 - Jan B. / @bracki

01/05/2011 at 10:00AM

13
#323 - Raphael Sofaer / @rsofaer

06/13/2011 at 02:34AM

13
#324 - William Hua / @attente

07/17/2011 at 01:05PM

13
#325 - Edan Sneh / @edan_sneh

05/26/2016 at 05:18PM

13
#326 - Kim / @BiSaF

03/08/2019 at 09:59PM

14
#327 - Katie Kennedy / @cappy_haddock

12/30/2010 at 07:14PM

14
#328 - Josh / @karlw00t

12/31/2010 at 12:49AM

14
#329 - themonkeybob11 / @themonkeybob11

06/16/2015 at 02:11AM

19
#330 - Jonny Gerold / @fsk141

12/30/2010 at 05:50PM