Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1cc35a35b40650b800043a

Increment, increment, increment....

Vim likes macros

Start file
1
End file
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

View Diff

1a2,25
> 2
> 3
> 4
> 5
> 6
> 7
> 8
> 9
> 10
> 11
> 12
> 13
> 14
> 15
> 16
> 17
> 18
> 19
> 20
> 21
> 22
> 23
> 24
> 25

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 336 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#337 dixrow / @dixrow1 - Score: 112 - 10/22/19 @ 10:16
a<CR>2<CR>3<CR>4<CR>5<CR>6<CR>7<CR>8<CR>9<Esc>vggyGpi<CR><Esc>i1<Esc>j.j.j.j.j.j.j.j.<Esc>kkkkkkkkkkjjO10<Esc>jjjjjjjjjjjjjo<Esc>pi20<CR>2<BS><Esc>i2<Esc>j.j.j.j.j<Esc>dddddddd<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @rodmar_

337 active golfers, 493 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#61 - Brad / @bjjwillis

12/30/2010 at 10:19PM

12
#62 - Dezső Zoltán / @zakiazigazi

12/30/2010 at 10:26PM

12
#63 - Benjamin Thomas / @bentomas

12/30/2010 at 10:31PM

12
#64 - Wei Dai / @clvv42

12/30/2010 at 11:13PM

12
#65 - Rune Botten / @runeb

12/31/2010 at 01:00AM

12
#66 - Matthew Draper / @_matthewd

12/31/2010 at 01:01AM

12
#67 - Amir Hedayaty / @hedayaty

12/31/2010 at 01:03AM

12
#68 - Juan C. Muller / @juancmuller

12/31/2010 at 02:51AM

12
#69 - David / @ddddddddavid

12/31/2010 at 03:44AM

12
#70 - ninereeds / @ninereeds

12/31/2010 at 04:15AM

12
#71 - Brandon Ferguson / @bnferguson

12/31/2010 at 04:35AM

12
#72 - Dmytro Shteflyuk / @kpumuk

12/31/2010 at 04:46AM

12
#73 - Austin Taylor / @austintaylor

12/31/2010 at 05:06AM

12
#74 - Mikel Ward / @mikelward

12/31/2010 at 05:58AM

12
#75 - Utkarsh Kukreti / @utkarshkukreti

12/31/2010 at 05:59AM

12
#76 - Peter Anselmo / @peter_anselmo

12/31/2010 at 06:26AM

12
#77 - Danny Dulai / @dannydulai

12/31/2010 at 06:45AM

12
#78 - Fer Enaf / @0x00C0FFEE

12/31/2010 at 07:09AM

12
#79 - Erik F. Kastner / @kastner

12/31/2010 at 07:17AM

12
#80 - Leonard Chin / @lchin

12/31/2010 at 09:25AM

12
#81 - 藤田祥 / Sho Fujita / @fujisho

12/31/2010 at 11:44AM

12
#82 - Behnam Esfahbod / @zwnj

12/31/2010 at 12:59PM

12
#83 - PA Parent / @paparent

12/31/2010 at 01:09PM

12
#84 - Prody / @Prody225

12/31/2010 at 01:41PM

12
#85 - James Conroy-Finn / @jamesconroyfinn

12/31/2010 at 02:02PM

12
#86 - milkypostman / @milkypostman

12/31/2010 at 02:18PM

12
#87 - Ricardo Mendes / @locks

12/31/2010 at 02:28PM

12
#88 - Marco Fontani / @mfontani

12/31/2010 at 02:32PM

12
#89 - Henrik Nyh / @henrik

12/31/2010 at 02:57PM

12
#90 - Balkoth / @_Balkoth_

12/31/2010 at 03:28PM