Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4d1cc35a35b40650b800043a

Increment, increment, increment....

Vim likes macros

Start file
1
End file
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25

View Diff

1a2,25
> 2
> 3
> 4
> 5
> 6
> 7
> 8
> 9
> 10
> 11
> 12
> 13
> 14
> 15
> 16
> 17
> 18
> 19
> 20
> 21
> 22
> 23
> 24
> 25

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 336 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#337 dixrow / @dixrow1 - Score: 112 - 10/22/19 @ 10:16
a<CR>2<CR>3<CR>4<CR>5<CR>6<CR>7<CR>8<CR>9<Esc>vggyGpi<CR><Esc>i1<Esc>j.j.j.j.j.j.j.j.<Esc>kkkkkkkkkkjjO10<Esc>jjjjjjjjjjjjjo<Esc>pi20<CR>2<BS><Esc>i2<Esc>j.j.j.j.j<Esc>dddddddd<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @rodmar_

337 active golfers, 493 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#151 - Bryan Kendall / @bkendall

06/06/2011 at 08:28PM

12
#152 - Rasmus P / @rasmup

06/09/2011 at 02:25AM

12
#153 - Justin Love / @wondible

06/29/2011 at 12:35PM

12
#154 - Dan Masquelier / @danmasq

07/01/2011 at 06:28AM

12
#155 - Sammasati / @sammasati0

07/17/2011 at 03:23AM

12
#156 - Jim Infield / @jinfield

07/21/2011 at 10:26PM

12
#157 - Johan Sveholm / @rymdtjuren

07/22/2011 at 12:53AM

12
#158 - Dave / @zzdave13

07/27/2011 at 05:56PM

12
#159 - Alexander Yermakov / @Mannavard

08/05/2011 at 12:29PM

12
#160 - Stanley Wang / @stanleynwang

08/25/2011 at 11:23AM

12
#161 - Jesús Espino / @jespinog

09/07/2011 at 09:53AM

12
#162 - William Dunand / @wdunand

11/29/2011 at 02:04AM

12
#163 - Trevor Powell / @DoomedBunnies

11/30/2011 at 07:07AM

12
#164 - You-Siang Lin / @yslinnctu

12/02/2011 at 04:13AM

12
#165 - Benjamin Sullivan / @benjaminsull

12/06/2011 at 05:42PM

12
#166 - Jaime A. Sánchez / @jashbeta

12/22/2011 at 05:22AM

12
#167 - Xavier Nayrac / @lkdjiin

12/30/2011 at 02:29PM

12
#168 - Dj Vimgolf / @dj_vimgolf

12/31/2011 at 08:01PM

12
#169 - peter shih / @peter50216

01/06/2012 at 08:24AM

12
#170 - Vasil Sakarov / @vsakarov

01/17/2012 at 08:34PM

12
#171 - Christopher Brew / @Seph1rothVII

01/24/2012 at 08:37PM

12
#172 - Renat Aksitov / @Korvin79

01/28/2012 at 10:30PM

12
#173 - Tesnorth / @Tesnorth

01/31/2012 at 04:46PM

12
#174 - John / @OneOhOneOhOneOh

02/05/2012 at 02:18AM

12
#175 - Jyun-Fan Tsai / @fakecolor

02/14/2012 at 01:45PM

12
#176 - Ibrahim Tencer / @ibrahimtencer

02/16/2012 at 06:14AM

12
#177 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

02/23/2012 at 04:23PM

12
#178 - arno renevier / @dadadiblog

03/18/2012 at 03:32PM

12
#179 - Garry Shutler / @gshutler

03/31/2012 at 06:35PM

12
#180 - Nolen Royalty / @NolenRoyalty

04/20/2012 at 11:20PM