Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 4dddc7c1ed7380000100000d

Multiplication table.

Create a multiplication table.

Start file
1
End file
1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10
2   4   6   8   10  12  14  16  18  20
3   6   9   12  15  18  21  24  27  30
4   8   12  16  20  24  28  32  36  40
5   10  15  20  25  30  35  40  45  50
6   12  18  24  30  36  42  48  54  60  
7   14  21  28  35  42  49  56  63  70
8   16  24  32  40  48  56  64  72  80
9   18  27  36  45  54  63  72  81  90
10  20  30  40  50  60  70  80  90  100

View Diff

1c1,10
< 1
---
> 1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10
> 2   4   6   8   10  12  14  16  18  20
> 3   6   9   12  15  18  21  24  27  30
> 4   8   12  16  20  24  28  32  36  40
> 5   10  15  20  25  30  35  40  45  50
> 6   12  18  24  30  36  42  48  54  60  
> 7   14  21  28  35  42  49  56  63  70
> 8   16  24  32  40  48  56  64  72  80
> 9   18  27  36  45  54  63  72  81  90
> 10  20  30  40  50  60  70  80  90  100

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 62 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#63 Ben Sherman / @bensherman - Score: 395 - 10/18/11 @ 23:51
A   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10<CR>2   4   6   8   10  12  14  16  18  20<CR>3   6   9   12  15  18  21  24  27  30<CR>4   8   12  16  20  24  28  32  36  40<CR>5   10  15  20  25  30  35  40  45  50<CR>6   12  18  24  30  36  42  48  54  60  <CR>7   14  21  28  35  42  49  56  63  70<CR>8   16  24  32  40  48  56  64  72  80<CR>9   18  27  36  45  54  63  72  81  90<CR>10  20  30  40  50  60  70  80  90  100<Esc>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @connermcd

63 active golfers, 195 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
74
#31 - Johan Sveholm / @rymdtjuren

06/24/2011 at 12:27AM

74
#32 - learninghang / @learninghang

04/14/2012 at 04:13PM

74
#33 - Marcin Szamotulski / @me_coot

10/26/2013 at 08:55AM

75
#34 - arno renevier / @dadadiblog

03/18/2012 at 07:14PM

77
#35 - Pavlo Klets / @p01nt

05/26/2011 at 08:50AM

77
#36 - Drew Olson / @drewolson

06/01/2011 at 12:58AM

78
#37 - Dave / @zzdave13

07/16/2011 at 10:09AM

78
#38 - Daniel Lundin / @danielundin

05/07/2012 at 01:59PM

80
#39 - Justin Hale / @jxl

05/26/2011 at 09:25AM

82
#40 - Dave Lyon / @daveisonthego

06/01/2011 at 12:55AM

82
#41 - 無ん垢の叫び / @john_ababa

03/10/2012 at 03:59PM

83
#42 - Jason Wolf / @zephyr_wolf

11/16/2012 at 08:57PM

84
#43 - Jean-Rene David / @jeanrenedavid

06/11/2011 at 07:01PM

85
#44 - Josh Davey / @joshuadavey

06/01/2011 at 12:59AM

85
#45 - Gabriel Barta / @gbarta

12/03/2011 at 01:10PM

86
#46 - Oliver Christ / @0liverChrist

11/08/2013 at 11:28PM

89
#47 - Renat Aksitov / @Korvin79

02/23/2012 at 11:07AM

89
#48 - US Dollar Price / @USDollarPrice

11/08/2013 at 12:26AM

91
#49 - Paul Hinze / @phinze

06/01/2011 at 12:53AM

98
#50 - h_east (トロッコ6個) / @h_east

05/26/2011 at 12:29PM

101
#51 - blabla zincou / @BZincou

03/19/2022 at 06:48PM

104
#52 - Christopher Erin / @MCNormalMode

09/20/2011 at 06:03PM

112
#53 - shahanavaz m / @shahanavazm

02/22/2022 at 02:01AM

116
#54 - Torben Rasmussen / @rasmustorben

08/15/2011 at 04:03PM

124
#55 - mightyfoo / @mightyfoo

05/26/2011 at 10:24AM

132
#56 - Mathias Fussenegger / @mfussenegger

06/06/2011 at 09:12PM

140
#57 - Kevin Stewart / @stewkev

02/06/2012 at 01:25AM

143
#58 - Bodaniel Jeanes / @bjeanes

06/01/2011 at 12:56AM

148
#59 - Joey Geralnik / @jgeralnik

12/20/2011 at 01:45PM

162
#60 - Dan Masquelier / @danmasq

07/01/2011 at 08:22AM