Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 50048db8cdc4060002000004

Vertical Limit

transform a succession of one word lines to a an array of strings

Start file
There
is
no
vertical
limit
for
vim
Ninjas
End file
[ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

View Diff

1,8c1
< There
< is
< no
< vertical
< limit
< for
< vim
< Ninjas
---
> [ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 705 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#706 Prasanna N / @SupertrampPras - Score: 226 - 08/07/12 @ 16:49
jjjkkkkVGJI[ <C-S><BS><C-S><BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc>A ]<C-]><BS><Esc>hbbbbbbbbblwvei"<C-S>vhhhhi"<C-S><BS><Esc>;llllla"<Esc>ll.uh.uhh.lll.uhh.l.ll.lllhh.llllllll.llh.lllll.llh.lll.ll.uhh.lll.llh.llllll.:w<CR>hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhha,<Esc>lllll.lllll.WWhh.eE.E.E.:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @knarfben

706 active golfers, 2319 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
23
#211 - john / @KMKY_Aha

05/04/2014 at 11:59PM

23
#212 - Caek / @Caek_

08/08/2014 at 01:46AM

23
#213 - Josu Oyanguren / @josuoyanguren

12/18/2014 at 11:55AM

23
#214 - kimber gonzalez / @kimberlycreates

01/13/2015 at 09:31PM

23
#215 - mark0829 / @mark0829

02/01/2015 at 11:20AM

23
#216 - Charles A. Bouffard / @the_cabouffard

04/05/2015 at 07:37PM

23
#217 - 親の金でシャンプーを買うな / @jajkeqos

04/08/2015 at 08:55PM

23
#218 - Liam Thurston / @lthurston188

08/18/2015 at 04:53AM

23
#219 - Walker Boh / @walker_boh

10/06/2015 at 09:19AM

23
#220 - John Smith / @literacyisgood

05/03/2016 at 09:28PM

23
#221 - Will / @obiwan__k3n00bi

08/31/2016 at 03:41AM

23
#222 - Zhihong Liu / @pieapple03

02/27/2017 at 02:22AM

23
#223 - Karl Hepler / @oldtimeguitar

05/25/2017 at 08:05PM

23
#224 - Evgeny`s Kindle / @EvgenyKindle

05/01/2018 at 07:18AM

23
#225 - Aunt Jovie / @auntjovie

05/14/2018 at 05:04PM

23
#226 - towc / @MateiCopot

05/25/2018 at 07:40PM

23
#227 - PCS Solutions / @PeteSolutions

08/15/2018 at 10:57PM

23
#228 - Hugo / @szeyattai

08/19/2018 at 03:37PM

23
#229 - chaotic / @laersn

09/11/2018 at 11:35AM

23
#230 - Dax / @zacoxi

11/12/2018 at 05:06AM

23
#231 - faisal / @faisalhackshah

11/26/2018 at 06:36PM

23
#232 - Bruce Park / @bpark0

12/17/2018 at 12:49AM

23
#233 - Timur Celik / @clktmr

12/21/2018 at 05:10PM

23
#234 - Nick Yeow / @nickyeow

05/23/2019 at 12:29PM

23
#235 - 임덕윤 / @SnLHUF5ZYJXqI1m

01/10/2020 at 10:18PM

23
#236 - eshel / @EshelBM

03/29/2020 at 07:26PM

23
#237 - iBhagwan / @iiBhagwan

05/18/2020 at 02:20AM

24
#238 - Nipunn Koorapati / @nipunn1313

07/17/2012 at 08:00AM

24
#239 - benkomalo / @benkomalo

07/19/2012 at 05:08AM

24
#240 - Caleb McDaniel / @wcaleb

07/25/2012 at 10:29PM