Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 50048db8cdc4060002000004

Vertical Limit

transform a succession of one word lines to a an array of strings

Start file
There
is
no
vertical
limit
for
vim
Ninjas
End file
[ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

View Diff

1,8c1
< There
< is
< no
< vertical
< limit
< for
< vim
< Ninjas
---
> [ "There", "is", "no", "vertical", "limit", "for", "vim", "Ninjas" ]

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 705 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#706 Prasanna N / @SupertrampPras - Score: 226 - 08/07/12 @ 16:49
jjjkkkkVGJI[ <C-S><BS><C-S><BS>jj<BS><BS><Esc>A ]<C-]><BS><Esc>hbbbbbbbbblwvei"<C-S>vhhhhi"<C-S><BS><Esc>;llllla"<Esc>ll.uh.uhh.lll.uhh.l.ll.lllhh.llllllll.llh.lllll.llh.lll.ll.uhh.lll.llh.llllll.:w<CR>hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhha,<Esc>lllll.lllll.WWhh.eE.E.E.:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @knarfben

706 active golfers, 2319 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
24
#241 - Chris Brown / @engineercyb

07/26/2012 at 05:40PM

24
#242 - Слава / @slava_and_ipad

08/08/2012 at 11:05AM

24
#243 - Catalin Ciurea / @catalinciurea

08/12/2012 at 05:12PM

24
#244 - Enrique Paredes / @iknite

08/18/2012 at 12:48AM

24
#245 - pixelpurist / @pixelpurist

09/01/2012 at 10:26AM

24
#246 - Javier Cervantes / @solojavier

09/05/2012 at 06:11PM

24
#247 - Gregor Schmidt / @schmidtwisser

09/11/2012 at 07:31PM

24
#248 - Chris Patuzzo / @cpatuzzo

11/03/2012 at 11:31PM

24
#249 - makala noble / @mnoble01

11/13/2012 at 09:52AM

24
#250 - z0k / @z0k

12/19/2012 at 03:16PM

24
#251 - Steve Tjoa / @stevetjoa

02/08/2013 at 09:18PM

24
#252 - Joshua Draper / @JoshuaBDraper

05/25/2013 at 03:26PM

24
#253 - Nick Harding / @nick_harding

06/28/2013 at 03:24AM

24
#254 - Matt Cook / @mattcook08

07/16/2013 at 09:48PM

24
#255 - Francois Picalausa / @fpicalausa

08/17/2013 at 08:51PM

24
#256 - moo goo / @m00g000

08/18/2013 at 10:57PM

24
#257 - Fernando Axel Ellis / @Axel_Ellis

09/09/2013 at 09:52PM

24
#258 - brett / @brettyukich

09/19/2013 at 10:31AM

24
#259 - Marcin Szamotulski / @me_coot

10/20/2013 at 05:43PM

24
#260 - US Dollar Price / @USDollarPrice

11/04/2013 at 05:53AM

24
#261 - gary.klindt@googlema / @garstekli

11/12/2013 at 11:37PM

24
#262 - Juho Jokelainen / @juhojokelainen

12/09/2013 at 10:02PM

24
#263 - Sam Burk / @smwbk

12/23/2013 at 03:15AM

24
#264 - mattsalacain / @mattsalacain

02/04/2014 at 05:07AM

24
#265 - vimgolf copycat / @vimgolf_copycat

03/08/2014 at 02:37PM

24
#266 - Pedro Santos / @pedrosans

03/27/2014 at 03:19PM

24
#267 - Par Narvi / @ParNarvi

03/31/2014 at 08:23PM

24
#268 - Mattias Fransson / @azzidoos

09/09/2014 at 06:47AM

24
#269 - oimou --amend / @oimooooou

04/09/2015 at 10:47AM

24
#270 - Matt / @mcr05

04/19/2015 at 07:43AM