Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5054baaafa0b390002000029

SFD-ROC: vimvimvim

Oh no, this line is longer than 80 chars... put each 'vim' on a new line.

Start file
vimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvim
End file
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim
vim

View Diff

1c1,26
< vimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvimvim
---
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim
> vim

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 423 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#424 Joshua Travis / @jktravis - Score: 27 - 11/11/12 @ 01:44
:%s/\(m\)\<BS>/\1\r/g<CR>dd:w<CR>:q<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @Remy_D

424 active golfers, 1508 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#391 - Connie Qi / @connieqi

06/09/2014 at 02:44PM

15
#392 - starrynte / @starrynte

07/10/2014 at 06:10PM

15
#393 - r. / @rmarvie

12/23/2014 at 02:43PM

15
#394 - ltn614 / @ltn614

09/19/2015 at 03:24PM

15
#395 - Jurica / @Jurica34581259

11/16/2018 at 04:16PM

15
#396 - Phoon / @justflashhim

05/11/2019 at 03:52PM

15
#397 - albalitz / @_albalitz

06/13/2019 at 11:16AM

15
#398 - Anil Narayan / @AnilNarayan2013

09/11/2020 at 04:16AM

16
#399 - ralphbean / @ralphbean

09/15/2012 at 09:43PM

16
#400 - JJ Asghar / @jjasghar

09/18/2012 at 04:05PM

16
#401 - Federico Bond / @federicobond

09/22/2012 at 10:57PM

16
#402 - Jan Mollowitz / @jmollowitz

09/24/2012 at 08:21AM

16
#403 - Nick Stenning / @nickstenning

10/20/2012 at 03:13PM

16
#404 - Casey Robinson / @rampant_monkey

12/05/2012 at 07:28PM

16
#405 - ajh / @AlexJHammel

12/24/2012 at 02:29PM

16
#406 - Chris Berragan / @ChrisBerragan

01/19/2013 at 04:21PM

16
#407 - David J Siefert / @davidjsiefert

12/13/2013 at 09:51PM

16
#408 - Brian Peiris / @brianpeiris

12/28/2013 at 06:00AM

16
#409 - Kamil Krzyżanowski / @kamnxt

03/14/2014 at 05:20PM

16
#410 - ɐʇnɥsɐpoʇ / @todashuta

03/26/2015 at 06:38AM

16
#411 - Zach Gulde / @zgulde

02/29/2016 at 05:40AM

16
#412 - Gurukandhamoorthi / @Gurukandhamoor1

07/11/2017 at 02:45PM

16
#413 - Aaron / @_Lordofthevoid_

12/06/2019 at 01:52PM

17
#414 - Nicolas Friedli / @NicolasFriedli

10/28/2012 at 08:14AM

17
#415 - Daniel / @dpaneda

11/10/2012 at 08:55PM

17
#416 - Erik Daniel / @erik_daniel

06/06/2014 at 06:17PM

17
#417 - shugen / @shugeno

04/01/2015 at 07:24PM

18
#418 - Pablo / @chambawamba358

10/02/2013 at 02:04PM

18
#419 - sinan / @sinan1111111111

02/14/2015 at 03:56PM

20
#420 - Sami Niiranen / @saminiir

10/13/2013 at 06:44PM