Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5192f96ad8df110002000002

Words in parens

We should all ace this, right?

Start file
one two
three
End file
(one) (two)
(three)

View Diff

1,2c1,2
< one two
< three
---
> (one) (two)
> (three)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3904 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3905 velina v veleva / @vveleva - Score: 155 - 04/23/15 @ 16:55
::%s/\(\a*\)/(&)/g<CR>ZZ<C-A><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><BS><CR><CR>%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ/<Esc><Esc>u<Esc>/<BS>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<CR>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><CR><Esc>:w<CR><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3905 active golfers, 12682 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#1171 - Bogdan Gusiev / @bgusiev

06/28/2013 at 07:53PM

15
#1172 - Dom Armstrong / @dom_cycleface

06/30/2013 at 08:00PM

15
#1173 - zlydem / @zlydem

07/02/2013 at 02:34PM

15
#1174 - Sisso Ananda / @365DayToNibbana

07/02/2013 at 06:18PM

15
#1175 - Gosteau Alexandre / @eclostene

07/03/2013 at 12:34PM

15
#1176 - zmf_tim / @zmf_tim

07/04/2013 at 11:50AM

15
#1177 - Huu Nguyen / @huudev

07/09/2013 at 04:33PM

15
#1178 - omahn / @omahn

07/09/2013 at 08:26PM

15
#1179 - Bradd Szonye / @bszonye

07/09/2013 at 11:53PM

15
#1180 - Amos King / @Adkron

07/12/2013 at 02:58AM

15
#1181 - Roland Schatz / @fl_Overmind

07/12/2013 at 02:00PM

15
#1182 - Kelly Steensma / @kellystee

07/18/2013 at 01:42AM

15
#1183 - Ingo / @ist3fani

07/18/2013 at 06:53PM

15
#1184 - Trae Robrock / @trobrock

07/18/2013 at 07:09PM

15
#1185 - Bruno Sutic / @brunosutic

07/18/2013 at 10:24PM

15
#1186 - Peter Johannson / @PeterJohannson

08/03/2013 at 07:27PM

15
#1187 - Global Maquereau / @GlobalMaquereau

08/06/2013 at 07:03AM

15
#1188 - Kevin Etienne / @42__kevin

08/18/2013 at 06:25PM

15
#1189 - Rémi Jézéquel / @Remjez

08/23/2013 at 10:24AM

15
#1190 - Jason Davidson / @aka_lingy

08/24/2013 at 05:29PM

15
#1191 - Barry Nichols / @Barry_Nichols

08/26/2013 at 07:43AM

15
#1192 - Dan / @dan_winkler

08/26/2013 at 10:52AM

15
#1193 - Tyler HT Cipriani / @tylercipriani

08/26/2013 at 10:38PM

15
#1194 - Leif Bladt / @leifbladt

08/28/2013 at 08:53AM

15
#1195 - Tony Han / @tony612_han

08/28/2013 at 02:53PM

15
#1196 - Pablo Caro / @pcaro90

08/31/2013 at 08:06PM

15
#1197 - Arturo Escaip / @arturoescaip

09/01/2013 at 09:44AM

15
#1198 - Toto l'haricot / @nico_le_terribl

09/05/2013 at 02:34PM

15
#1199 - Kerson Hsiao / @KersonHsiao

09/09/2013 at 10:50AM

15
#1200 - Rafa Garcia / @fafa

09/11/2013 at 06:05PM