Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5192f96ad8df110002000002

Words in parens

We should all ace this, right?

Start file
one two
three
End file
(one) (two)
(three)

View Diff

1,2c1,2
< one two
< three
---
> (one) (two)
> (three)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3904 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3905 velina v veleva / @vveleva - Score: 155 - 04/23/15 @ 16:55
::%s/\(\a*\)/(&)/g<CR>ZZ<C-A><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><BS><CR><CR>%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ/<Esc><Esc>u<Esc>/<BS>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<CR>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><CR><Esc>:w<CR><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3905 active golfers, 12682 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#1201 - Trevor Powell / @DoomedBunnies

09/12/2013 at 06:37AM

15
#1202 - Leonel Gasparrini / @jlgasparrini

09/17/2013 at 11:25PM

15
#1203 - brett / @brettyukich

09/18/2013 at 09:31AM

15
#1204 - r / @tricosahedron

09/20/2013 at 11:32PM

15
#1205 - Sinclair Desaud / @sdesaud

09/25/2013 at 07:43PM

15
#1206 - Ting / @Dsaztaz

09/27/2013 at 07:27AM

15
#1207 - nona urbiz / @nospampleasemam

09/28/2013 at 07:44AM

15
#1208 - hiding / @I_haveno_name

10/01/2013 at 11:38AM

15
#1209 - Ignat Skoryh / @ignat

10/11/2013 at 12:04PM

15
#1210 - Monroe Walker / @monroewlkr

10/17/2013 at 12:47AM

15
#1211 - Robert Rosolek / @robertrosolek

10/18/2013 at 09:12AM

15
#1212 - bunnies president / @bunnies4p

10/22/2013 at 01:18PM

15
#1213 - Roger Bongers / @RogerBongers

10/23/2013 at 01:56AM

15
#1214 - Marc Dix / @marcdix

10/23/2013 at 07:34PM

15
#1215 - James O Smith / @josmith4242

10/23/2013 at 08:35PM

15
#1216 - A. N. / @arez42

10/24/2013 at 05:33AM

15
#1217 - John Boyd / @theboydvoid

10/25/2013 at 12:21AM

15
#1218 - Jonas Granquist / @jonasgranquist

10/25/2013 at 03:25PM

15
#1219 - Rohan Orton / @rohan_orton

10/26/2013 at 10:30PM

15
#1220 - Fnord Everywhere / @FnordE

10/30/2013 at 01:22PM

15
#1221 - Balthamos / @balthamos89

11/02/2013 at 01:27AM

15
#1222 - satchmorun / @satchmorun

11/03/2013 at 06:43PM

15
#1223 - Víctor Brigé / @vbrige

11/03/2013 at 09:02PM

15
#1224 - Arthur叔 / @Arthurljg

11/05/2013 at 04:13AM

15
#1225 - arton0306 / @ArtonArton0306

11/05/2013 at 10:09AM

15
#1226 - Sam Saffron / @samsaffron

11/08/2013 at 02:11AM

15
#1227 - CY / @wongcy0

11/08/2013 at 04:49AM

15
#1228 - gary.klindt@googlema / @garstekli

11/10/2013 at 01:22PM

15
#1229 - Alexandros Giouzenis / @agiouz

11/15/2013 at 01:03PM

15
#1230 - 8xx8 / @8xx8ru

11/15/2013 at 03:49PM