Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5192f96ad8df110002000002

Words in parens

We should all ace this, right?

Start file
one two
three
End file
(one) (two)
(three)

View Diff

1,2c1,2
< one two
< three
---
> (one) (two)
> (three)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 3904 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#3905 velina v veleva / @vveleva - Score: 155 - 04/23/15 @ 16:55
::%s/\(\a*\)/(&)/g<CR>ZZ<C-A><BS><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Left><Right><BS><CR><CR>%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ/<Esc><Esc>u<Esc>/<BS>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<CR>:%s/\(\w*\)/(\1)/g<CR>ZZ<Left><Left><Right><Right><Right><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><BS><CR><Esc>:w<CR><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

3905 active golfers, 12682 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
15
#1381 - Jens Weggemann / @JensWeggemann

12/12/2014 at 05:39AM

15
#1382 - Christoph Paulik / @cpaulik

12/12/2014 at 11:25PM

15
#1383 - david hu / @chin33z

12/14/2014 at 04:15PM

15
#1384 - Andrew Leung / @aleungpivotal

12/18/2014 at 05:11PM

15
#1385 - Daan Michiels / @daan_michiels

12/18/2014 at 10:05PM

15
#1386 - Dave Getzinger / @DaveGetzinger

12/26/2014 at 05:04AM

15
#1387 - Filipe Almeida / @filipe_almeida

12/31/2014 at 03:08AM

15
#1388 - d1hotpep / @d1hotpep

12/31/2014 at 11:47PM

15
#1389 - Jordana Lachow / @TomofBedlam

01/04/2015 at 03:38AM

15
#1390 - Jake Eskel / @JakeEskel

01/04/2015 at 01:59PM

15
#1391 - Vasily Toropov / @vasandtor

01/13/2015 at 11:27AM

15
#1392 - Sntano Euhsk / @SEuhsk

01/15/2015 at 10:18PM

15
#1393 - mark0829 / @mark0829

01/20/2015 at 11:47PM

15
#1394 - no name / @vimgol

01/24/2015 at 02:06PM

15
#1395 - Thomas Larrieu / @t_larrieu

01/29/2015 at 03:44PM

15
#1396 - Bruce Park / @bpark0

02/01/2015 at 10:16PM

15
#1397 - Alex Girdler / @zraved

02/12/2015 at 05:23AM

15
#1398 - Almog / @almog

02/15/2015 at 01:02PM

15
#1399 - SuperJediWombat / @SuperJediWombat

02/17/2015 at 06:14AM

15
#1400 - Laurent Stacul / @stac47

02/19/2015 at 08:50AM

15
#1401 - Dorian Scheidt / @DorianListens

02/25/2015 at 05:35AM

15
#1402 - Кисы / @ubermuschi

03/01/2015 at 03:26PM

15
#1403 - Mariano Macchi / @mmacchif

03/01/2015 at 09:27PM

15
#1404 - Ch Ri / @szirocco

03/07/2015 at 09:51AM

15
#1405 - Jerome Korlowski / @nolifish

03/07/2015 at 10:38PM

15
#1406 - Kenny / @zumalifeguard

03/08/2015 at 02:55PM

15
#1407 - Karol Katerżawa / @CharlieQbx

03/11/2015 at 11:47AM

15
#1408 - AppTakk! / @apptakk

03/17/2015 at 08:04AM

15
#1409 - Krzysztof / @Krzysztof2K

03/20/2015 at 07:06AM

15
#1410 - Adam Jimenez / @adamjimenez0

03/23/2015 at 03:00PM