Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 51e023f92b2f6d0002000066

Hole-in-one

Lets take this golf thing literally.. Drive off the tee into the hole, and of course you don't strike the ball completely clean.

Start file
    
        o
        |


                                     |>
                                     |
                                    ( )
End file
    
        
        
          _

                                     |>
                                     |
                                    (o)

View Diff

3,5c3,5
<         o
<         |
< 
---
>         
>         
>           _
9c9
<                                     ( )
---
>                                     (o)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 296 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#297 Brian Peiris / @brianpeiris - Score: 43 - 12/28/13 @ 05:28
/|<CR>:se vir<Tab>=a<Tab><BS>ll<CR>jlls_<Esc>kkb<C-V>jd<Esc>/(<CR>2s(o<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @boyfromkansas

297 active golfers, 973 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
16
#61 - Robert Bruce / @therealrobru

06/11/2014 at 05:37AM

16
#62 - John Meisner / @jmeisned

06/25/2014 at 07:06PM

16
#63 - Lasse Dalegaard / @ldalegaard

07/07/2014 at 09:16PM

16
#64 - playalong / @playwithit42

07/08/2014 at 11:47AM

16
#65 - Alphonso De La Morte / @FatDrakula

07/20/2014 at 12:55PM

16
#66 - Birkir Ólafsson / @Birkirlafsson

07/21/2014 at 06:31PM

16
#67 - Fan Zhang / @2bDeactivat3d

08/17/2014 at 03:48AM

16
#68 - a b / @vimgolf12345678

09/03/2014 at 02:08AM

16
#69 - Michael Comerford / @MComerford1

09/20/2014 at 03:20AM

16
#70 - alex annan / @alexannan

12/29/2014 at 09:59AM

16
#71 - kimber gonzalez / @kimberlycreates

01/20/2015 at 08:30PM

16
#72 - Raj / @brshenoy

04/30/2015 at 06:14PM

16
#73 - Mutter Mumble / @muttermumble

07/11/2015 at 02:55PM

16
#74 - Liam Thurston / @lthurston188

08/17/2015 at 05:56AM

16
#75 - Mike Adams / @davis_cromwell

10/06/2015 at 12:50AM

16
#76 - Jon Krause / @jkrause314

01/10/2016 at 07:28PM

16
#77 - Aleksey Zhidkov / @AlexeyZhidkov

02/19/2016 at 03:59AM

16
#78 - DJ Pelland / @dJ_pelland

03/15/2016 at 09:03PM

16
#79 - Janko Jerinic / @JankoJerinic

03/28/2016 at 06:36AM

16
#80 - Saki Gw / @Sakigw

05/20/2016 at 01:58PM

16
#81 - Vaughn Cato / @vaughncato

05/23/2016 at 04:58AM

16
#82 - Lifepillar / @lifepillar

06/08/2016 at 09:01PM

16
#83 - Ram Tamtam / @ramtamtamtam

07/01/2016 at 08:17AM

16
#84 - Will / @obiwan__k3n00bi

08/18/2016 at 03:14AM

16
#85 - Wouter van der Meel / @AltWouss

08/22/2017 at 07:29AM

16
#86 - Turkey Man / @lvturkeyman

11/19/2017 at 04:56AM

16
#87 - BarbaJol / @drpproteus

01/07/2018 at 11:42AM

16
#88 - vimgolfer / @vimgolfer7

10/04/2019 at 01:31AM

16
#89 - Viktor Styrud / @ViktorStyrud

11/20/2019 at 11:22AM

16
#90 - Miłosz Łakomy / @foobar01123

12/09/2019 at 06:54AM