Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 51e023f92b2f6d0002000066

Hole-in-one

Lets take this golf thing literally.. Drive off the tee into the hole, and of course you don't strike the ball completely clean.

Start file
    
        o
        |


                                     |>
                                     |
                                    ( )
End file
    
        
        
          _

                                     |>
                                     |
                                    (o)

View Diff

3,5c3,5
<         o
<         |
< 
---
>         
>         
>           _
9c9
<                                     ( )
---
>                                     (o)

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 296 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#297 Brian Peiris / @brianpeiris - Score: 43 - 12/28/13 @ 05:28
/|<CR>:se vir<Tab>=a<Tab><BS>ll<CR>jlls_<Esc>kkb<C-V>jd<Esc>/(<CR>2s(o<Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @boyfromkansas

297 active golfers, 973 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
21
#211 - Jake Eskel / @JakeEskel

02/04/2015 at 12:09AM

21
#212 - Gerald Tilma / @GeraldTilma

10/19/2015 at 04:36AM

21
#213 - amu uma / @amuumaamuuma

01/12/2016 at 05:41AM

21
#214 - daHueby / @daHueby

01/10/2017 at 10:46AM

21
#215 - tPenguinLTG / @tpenguinltg

07/03/2017 at 01:37AM

21
#216 - 杨洋 / @176795444

07/16/2017 at 10:32AM

21
#217 - Nicholas Ockmsson / @Nockm

05/05/2018 at 09:48AM

22
#218 - Justin / @justinjaffray

07/12/2013 at 06:16PM

22
#219 - Bruce Woodward / @Bruce_Woodward

07/13/2013 at 01:13AM

22
#220 - jessepye / @jessepye

07/17/2013 at 07:32PM

22
#221 - Pedro Melgueira / @petermlm

07/21/2013 at 05:06PM

22
#222 - cj / @cj01101

08/03/2013 at 07:15PM

22
#223 - Guillaume Seren / @guillaumeseren

08/26/2013 at 11:24AM

22
#224 - meitham / @meitham

08/27/2013 at 07:31PM

22
#225 - moo goo / @m00g000

09/05/2013 at 08:15PM

22
#226 - Ben Miller / @Nephi12Ben

10/15/2013 at 06:21AM

22
#227 - Milind Ganjoo / @mganjoo

11/02/2013 at 11:17PM

22
#228 - Edgar Hipp / @EdgarHipp

11/14/2013 at 06:21PM

22
#229 - Davey Struijk / @daveystruijk

01/04/2014 at 01:48PM

22
#230 - Andreas Källberg / @Anka213

01/17/2014 at 12:19AM

22
#231 - Travis Millott / @ritherz

01/21/2014 at 11:55PM

22
#232 - Omer Lachish / @rauchy

01/28/2014 at 02:04PM

22
#233 - Connor Warnock / @connorwarnock

01/29/2014 at 02:54AM

22
#234 - mattsalacain / @mattsalacain

01/31/2014 at 07:29PM

22
#235 - Zudov / @zudov_me

02/05/2014 at 06:57PM

22
#236 - Vitalii / @veelenga

02/15/2014 at 09:54PM

22
#237 - Gennadiy Leyfer / @gleyfer

02/23/2014 at 11:48PM

22
#238 - Jake Eaton / @Jake__Eaton

06/01/2014 at 06:44AM

22
#239 - Rob Glew / @RealGlew

06/05/2014 at 08:39PM

22
#240 - TapTemplate / @TapTemplate

06/28/2014 at 01:42AM