Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 539c50b188b4e20002053e38

Where should I put the Newline?

Help me put the newline.

Start file
You see this --->newline<--- that is the newline.
End file
You see this --->
<--- that is the newline.

View Diff

1c1,2
< You see this --->newline<--- that is the newline.
---
> You see this --->
> <--- that is the newline.

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 419 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#420 Gurukandhamoorthi / @Gurukandhamoor1 - Score: 15 - 07/11/17 @ 14:47
:s/>.*</>\r<<CR>ZZ

0 comments


#421 Jurica / @Jurica34581259 - Score: 15 - 11/16/18 @ 16:41
:s/n.*</\r</<CR>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @aditcr8

421 active golfers, 842 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
8
#391 - Lory / @Lory46845742

11/20/2019 at 12:47PM

8
#392 - Aaron / @_Lordofthevoid_

12/09/2019 at 07:06AM

8
#393 - Ryan Nevius / @ryannevius

03/22/2020 at 07:59PM

8
#394 - RockerZZY / @rocker_zzy

06/14/2020 at 06:03AM

8
#395 - lzh / @ly_zhng

06/14/2020 at 05:17PM

8
#396 - mevmev / @mevmev8

10/20/2021 at 09:34AM

8
#397 - Alira / @Alira_1

12/21/2021 at 05:07PM

8
#398 - FLeckami / @FLeckami

03/13/2022 at 01:55PM

9
#399 - Jan Wedekind / @wedesoft

06/22/2014 at 09:24PM

9
#400 - Derek Bever / @derekbever

06/23/2014 at 02:31AM

9
#401 - TapTemplate / @TapTemplate

06/25/2014 at 10:20PM

9
#402 - Jacob Joaquin / @JacobJoaquin

06/30/2014 at 02:48AM

9
#403 - MonkeyBrains ISP / @monkeybrainsnet

07/26/2014 at 07:18AM

9
#404 - daveseibert / @daveseibert

08/02/2014 at 03:19AM

9
#405 - Adv_Zxy / @adv_zxy

08/22/2014 at 05:08AM

9
#406 - Justin Knag / @justinknag

08/28/2014 at 11:52AM

9
#407 - A / @Tower_1980

11/09/2014 at 11:26AM

9
#408 - ಸುಬ್ರಹ್ಮಣ್ಯ ಜೋಶಿ / @subbucoding

03/29/2015 at 01:52PM

9
#409 - chvzvhn / @chvzvhn

04/27/2015 at 04:48AM

9
#410 - Pablo Cobelli / @pablocobelli

06/21/2016 at 03:54AM

9
#411 - Paul Inc / @hiniol1982

09/17/2017 at 01:40PM

9
#412 - Rory Smith / @alan0buchanan

09/14/2021 at 12:33AM

10
#413 - compiled wrong / @compiledwrong

06/16/2014 at 06:55AM

10
#414 - Jesse Hixson / @jhixson

06/20/2014 at 08:47PM

10
#415 - James Zhao / @h221baker

08/19/2014 at 05:52AM

10
#416 - LSMTD / @LSMTD

12/09/2014 at 03:34AM

11
#417 - Joshua Rose / @pythagory

06/24/2014 at 06:25PM

12
#418 - Netznarkose / @netznarkose

02/12/2015 at 05:39PM

12
#419 - Max Jacobson / @maxjacobson

11/06/2015 at 08:45PM

15
#420 - Gurukandhamoorthi / @Gurukandhamoor1

07/11/2017 at 02:47PM