Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 571808767dd9d30009000001

Align commas

There are 15,000 aligning challenges on vimgolf.com, and they're all exactly the same. I hope this one is a little different.

Start file
just = make,
       all,
       the,
       commas,
       line,
       up
End file
just = make  ,
       all   ,
       the   ,
       commas,
       line  ,
       up

View Diff

Hope you're all doing well. Goal is 11.

Tweet me a shoutout if you read View Diff.

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 225 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#226 Jon Barson / @jbarson - Score: 77 - 04/22/16 @ 19:10
<Esc>:%s/,/<Tab>,/g<CR><Esc>:<Esc><Up><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>x<Up>x<Up>x<Up>xuuuuuuuuuuu<Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right><Right>i  <Left><Left><Left><Down>   <Left><Left><Left><Down>   <Down><Left><Down><Left>  <Esc>ZZ

0 comments


Created by: @udioica

226 active golfers, 957 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
12
#91 - Lory / @Lory46845742

11/14/2019 at 01:01PM

12
#92 - leo / @leo28356948

11/29/2019 at 02:24PM

13
#93 - Matt Rasmus / @_mattrasmus

10/10/2016 at 04:03PM

13
#94 - Chester Yap / @Chest_ErYap

08/13/2019 at 12:04AM

13
#95 - Delon / @delonleonard

01/17/2020 at 06:37AM

14
#96 - Jon Krause / @jkrause314

04/21/2016 at 07:52AM

15
#97 - Smylers / @Smylers2

04/27/2016 at 10:10AM

15
#98 - Tamas Gal (Tom) / @tamasgal

05/12/2016 at 02:42PM

15
#99 - (,,꒪꒫꒪,,) / @sneer

05/21/2016 at 11:25AM

15
#100 - Vaughn Cato / @vaughncato

05/26/2016 at 01:40PM

15
#101 - Arijus / @argshook

06/02/2016 at 01:27PM

15
#102 - tgmeng / @lazy_fabric

06/07/2016 at 11:14AM

15
#103 - Ram Tamtam / @ramtamtamtam

06/22/2016 at 08:55AM

15
#104 - André Peric Tavares / @andre_peric

07/20/2016 at 08:53PM

15
#105 - Bill Ruddock / @biinari

10/31/2016 at 03:03AM

15
#106 - timerella® / @timerella

11/17/2016 at 10:08PM

15
#107 - Ryan Marcotte / @ryanjmarcotte

11/23/2016 at 10:56PM

15
#108 - Benoit Mortgat / @Benoit_Mortgat

11/14/2017 at 03:45PM

15
#109 - Fichera Gaetano / @gaetanofic

04/11/2018 at 02:59PM

15
#110 - fucus / @fishlovebanana

08/25/2018 at 02:07PM

15
#111 - vg / @vg53210350

10/28/2018 at 08:48PM

15
#112 - Jason Neylon / @jasonneylon

03/30/2020 at 07:34PM

16
#113 - Victor Haffreingue / @nobe_4

04/21/2016 at 05:59AM

16
#114 - Sebastián Mancilla / @smancill_m

05/06/2016 at 11:27PM

16
#115 - Jacob Niehus / @wilywampa

06/20/2016 at 02:44AM

16
#116 - Ben Baker-Smith / @Bit_Synthesis

07/17/2016 at 06:07AM

16
#117 - John Barbero Unenge / @JBarberU

10/19/2016 at 12:53PM

16
#118 - Etienne Florent / @EtienneFlorent

11/23/2016 at 01:10PM

16
#119 - Hans Yelek / @hans_yelek

01/11/2017 at 05:56AM

16
#120 - Daniel / @Daniel00288663

03/21/2017 at 04:55PM