Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5c2fdc20327666000cd05aac

Put the months in order

Our contractor thought that months should be in alphabetical order. Put them in calendar order please.

Start file
April
August
December
February
January
July
June
March
May
November
October
September
End file
January
February
March
April
May
June
July
August
September
October
November
December

View Diff

1,4d0
< April
< August
< December
< February
6,7c2
< July
< June
---
> February
8a4
> April
10,11c6,8
< November
< October
---
> June
> July
> August
13c10,12
<
---
> October
> November
> December

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 154 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#155 Graham Singer / @grahamsinger - Score: 84 - 01/05/19 @ 04:51
:3m 12<CR>kkddkPkkkddkPjjddkkkkP:5 m1<CR>kddjjpkkddjjjjjPjddkkkkPjddkkkPjjjjjjjjjddkkP:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @mcguire

155 active golfers, 915 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
50
#121 - RockerZZY / @rocker_zzy

06/07/2020 at 03:01AM

51
#122 - Mauro Bringolf / @maurobringolf

01/08/2019 at 06:51PM

52
#123 - abgalphabet / @abgalphabet

01/07/2019 at 02:00PM

52
#124 - Laurent Atlan / @laurentatlan1

04/15/2019 at 09:03PM

52
#125 - duyanh.y4n.pham / @PhamY4n

06/12/2019 at 02:15PM

52
#126 - Rafal C. / @RafalC37709324

11/15/2020 at 06:29PM

53
#127 - Lorenzo Swank / @lswank

01/06/2019 at 05:15PM

53
#128 - Marcos Moritz / @marcosmoritz

01/07/2019 at 06:46AM

53
#129 - Mat / @matpbo

01/09/2019 at 03:44PM

53
#130 - Will / @obiwan__k3n00bi

01/10/2019 at 12:07AM

53
#131 - Daniel Steinberg / @dstein64

01/27/2019 at 11:50PM

53
#132 - JonasS / @jonas42s

05/29/2019 at 12:43PM

54
#133 - Nick Lee / @TooManyNickLees

04/05/2020 at 07:41PM

55
#134 - John Smith / @JohnSmi14480159

01/09/2019 at 06:42AM

55
#135 - Vimfiz / @vimfiz

03/26/2019 at 06:25PM

56
#136 - 默罕默德 / @Rt6RjEAJ987Woes

01/31/2019 at 10:04AM

57
#137 - Grorco / @grorco

01/07/2019 at 01:00PM

57
#138 - volandkit / @volandkit

04/22/2020 at 10:42PM

58
#139 - MGJoe93 / @mgjoe93

03/06/2019 at 01:04PM

59
#140 - Narwaro / @Narwaro

01/30/2019 at 09:17PM

60
#141 - Anant Mishra / @anantanni22

01/05/2019 at 11:41AM

61
#142 - xer0.5ive / @Bibekshah

02/02/2019 at 01:36PM

61
#143 - scottarver / @scottarver

03/16/2019 at 01:36AM

63
#144 - Calvin / @calveenlee

01/10/2019 at 06:14PM

63
#145 - Vim Golfer / @VimGolfer6

07/31/2019 at 03:50PM

64
#146 - PotatoKing / @PotatoK72775616

03/27/2020 at 09:36PM

66
#147 - Kyle Safran / @kylesafran

01/17/2019 at 10:25PM

66
#148 - majo senf / @majo_senf

06/14/2019 at 03:13PM

70
#149 - Banner B. Schafer / @BannerBSchafer

04/08/2019 at 04:37AM

70
#150 - Daniel Habib / @danielhvs

07/23/2020 at 02:06AM