Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 9v0065c7bf44000000000261

months to html list items

Turn the months into list items.

Start file
<ul class="months">
january
february
march
april
may
june
july
august
september
october
november
december
</ul>
End file
<ul class="months">
	<li>January</li>
	<li>February</li>
	<li>March</li>
	<li>April</li>
	<li>May</li>
	<li>June</li>
	<li>July</li>
	<li>August</li>
	<li>September</li>
	<li>October</li>
	<li>November</li>
	<li>December</li>
</ul>

View Diff

2,13c2,13
< january
< february
< march
< april
< may
< june
< july
< august
< september
< october
< november
< december
---
> 	<li>January</li>
> 	<li>February</li>
> 	<li>March</li>
> 	<li>April</li>
> 	<li>May</li>
> 	<li>June</li>
> 	<li>July</li>
> 	<li>August</li>
> 	<li>September</li>
> 	<li>October</li>
> 	<li>November</li>
> 	<li>December</li>

Solutions

The best way to learn is to practice. Below, you will find some of the solutions other golfers have entered. To unlock higher ranked solutions, submit your own entry which does as well or better than the solutions you can currently see - climb the ladder!

Check out these helpful resources to improve your Vim skills... Game on.

Unlock 142 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
#143 Zizheng Wong / @zizhengWong - Score: 94 - 02/18/24 @ 13:19
<Esc><Esc>j<Esc>kjq1i<li><Esc>A</li><Esc>F<Esc>3b~j01q11@1gg13jgg11j<Esc>ggj<C-V>11ji<Tab>I<Tab><Esc>uv<Esc><C-V>11jI<Tab><Esc><Esc>uvjj9ji<Tab>I<Tab><Esc>jk<Esc>u<C-V>11jI<Tab><Esc>:wq<CR>

0 comments


Created by: @gangelop

143 active golfers, 512 entries

Leaderboard (lowest score wins):
25
#61 - Gabriel Augendre / @Crocmagnon

02/15/2024 at 11:45PM

25
#62 - Wonung Kim / @waneon

02/20/2024 at 10:14AM

25
#63 - Jinli Xiao / @jinlixiao

03/10/2024 at 05:05PM

25
#64 - Brian Curless / @swirlycurly

03/14/2024 at 11:03PM

25
#65 - Leon Katsnelson / @leonkatsnelson

03/24/2024 at 07:00PM

25
#66 - Marius Ropotica / @cipmar

04/02/2024 at 04:57PM

25
#67 - Josh Philpott / @josh-philpott

04/08/2024 at 07:04AM

25
#68 - heog / @Heogy

04/08/2024 at 02:20PM

25
#69 - jason songhurst / @spirozh

04/09/2024 at 03:34PM

25
#70 - gpfl0712 / @gpfl0712

04/13/2024 at 10:14PM

26
#71 - George Angelopoulos / @gangelop

02/10/2024 at 06:25PM

26
#72 - ysxninja / @ysxninja

02/12/2024 at 04:59PM

26
#73 - Penbu / @penbuvt

02/16/2024 at 01:11AM

26
#74 - moh ayaya / @AyayaMoh

02/24/2024 at 06:32PM

26
#75 - Byron Sharman / @b-sharman

02/28/2024 at 06:24AM

26
#76 - HamBistros / @HamBistros

03/07/2024 at 11:18AM

26
#77 - xKaotic / @xKaotic

03/10/2024 at 06:54AM

26
#78 - Eugene / @fullpipe

03/21/2024 at 12:25AM

26
#79 - zoomhauer / @paulonhere

03/21/2024 at 09:40PM

26
#80 - vimster12312 / @vimster12394846

03/26/2024 at 08:09PM

26
#81 - AzurIce / @AzurIce

03/27/2024 at 08:29AM

26
#82 - Andy Balaam / @andybalaam

04/01/2024 at 10:07AM

26
#83 - SnakitoGamer4160 / @SnakitoGamer4160

04/07/2024 at 02:39PM

27
#84 - Spamz 254 / @Spamz254

02/12/2024 at 04:13PM

27
#85 - psyashes / @psyashes

02/20/2024 at 12:49AM

27
#86 - Anaritus / @Anaritus

02/22/2024 at 03:17PM

27
#87 - Selvaganapathy P / @canabady

02/26/2024 at 05:31AM

27
#88 - Ryan Kilpadi / @rkilpadi

03/03/2024 at 06:08AM

27
#89 - Baptiste Nicolet / @bathal1

03/12/2024 at 02:17PM

27
#90 - Choan / @choan

03/16/2024 at 12:09AM