Real Vim ninjas count every keystroke - do you?

Pick a challenge, fire up Vim, and show us what you got.

Changelog, Rules & FAQ, updates: @vimgolf, RSS.

Your VimGolf key: please sign in

$ gem install vimgolf
$ vimgolf setup
$ vimgolf put 5e2786a9ee9d370009f72c0a

Hogwarts Email Sorting

Given a list of emails, get the students full name and their associated house.

Start file
james.potter@gryffindor.hogwarts.edu
sirius.black@gryffindor.hogwarts.edu
lily.potter@gryffindor.hogwarts.edu
draco.malfoy@slytherin.hogwarts.edu
harry.potter@gryffindor.hogwarts.edu
susan.bones@hufflepuff.hogwarts.edu
luna.lovegood@ravenclaw.hogwarts.edu
pansy.parkinson@slytherin.hogwarts.edu
cedric.diggory@hufflepuff.hogwarts.edu
cho.chang@hufflepuff.hogwarts.edu
End file
James Potter Gryffindor
Sirius Black Gryffindor
Lily Potter Gryffindor
Draco Malfoy Slytherin
Harry Potter Gryffindor
Susan Bones Hufflepuff
Luna Lovegood Ravenclaw
Pansy Parkinson Slytherin
Cedric Diggory Hufflepuff
Cho Chang Hufflepuff

View Diff

1,10c1,10
< james.potter@gryffindor.hogwarts.edu
< sirius.black@gryffindor.hogwarts.edu
< lily.potter@gryffindor.hogwarts.edu
< draco.malfoy@slytherin.hogwarts.edu
< harry.potter@gryffindor.hogwarts.edu
< susan.bones@hufflepuff.hogwarts.edu
< luna.lovegood@ravenclaw.hogwarts.edu
< pansy.parkinson@slytherin.hogwarts.edu
< cedric.diggory@hufflepuff.hogwarts.edu
< cho.chang@hufflepuff.hogwarts.edu
---
> James Potter Gryffindor
> Sirius Black Gryffindor
> Lily Potter Gryffindor
> Draco Malfoy Slytherin
> Harry Potter Gryffindor
> Susan Bones Hufflepuff
> Luna Lovegood Ravenclaw
> Pansy Parkinson Slytherin
> Cedric Diggory Hufflepuff
> Cho Chang Hufflepuff

Solutions by @bobrippling:

Unlock 11 remaining solutions by signing in and submitting your own entry
Created by: @ujwalnarayan

239 active golfers, 834 entries

Solutions by @bobrippling:
21
#76 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 05:00PM

22
#>136 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 04:55PM

23
#>166 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 04:54PM

26
#>194 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 04:53PM

29
#>201 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 04:51PM

33
#>216 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 04:48PM

35
#>217 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 04:46PM

38
#>222 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 04:44PM

43
#>227 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 09:26AM

44
#>228 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

04/28/2020 at 10:12AM

57
#>234 - Rob Pilling / @bobrippling

05/19/2020 at 09:24AM